AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: RM DAmato, iMs Beeds, iEugene Meyer, iStephen Lodge, iStan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski), iKaren Epp, iWilliam Lowenkamp, i
 
Home > John DeDakis
 

Recent Reviews for John DeDakis


Troubled Water (Book) - 12/9/2013 7:47:55 AM
Congrats X 2 Dan

Bluff (Paperback Edition) (Book) - 12/9/2013 7:46:33 AM
Congratulations on the new book, John...much success Dan

Fast Track (Hardcover) (Book) - 12/7/2009 4:37:35 AM
This was an amazing and suspenseful book that is both consuming and thought-provoking. I recommend it to everyone.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 11/23/2014 10:11:04 AM
A cute and enjoyable story, John, and an honest description of the pressure situations of younger folk. But if the guy had just grabbed her and planted one, that might well be the same guy we see later grabbing the cash out of the till in a gas station robbery. Permission and consent can take many forms, but to ignore the social protocol is unforgivable. I loved "My First Kiss." Richard

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 8/10/2014 10:40:30 AM
Does any one forget their first Kiss??? Your delightful story from the boys view. I remember my first awkward kiss from the girls view. Thank you for a really tender little story. H.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 4/30/2013 5:57:56 AM
Wonderful story, John!

Raquette Lake (Short Story) - 10/8/2012 10:30:11 PM
i enjoyed the segments youwrote the story in. You have shared some grat memories...M

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 10/8/2012 10:27:00 PM
I really enjoyed this story . It broght back memories of my first kiss by a boy who lived in our neighborhood. I posted it on the den last year. Thanks for sharing...M

Metro Tableau (Short Story) - 1/29/2012 4:54:03 PM
beautifully simple story full of details where i saw each child and their interaction. so nice. good write. thanks for the glimpse into their world -

Metro Tableau (Short Story) - 1/17/2012 1:23:20 PM
That is so evocative!!! Crisp descriptions, I didn't have to strain a musccle to put myself right in the middle of the story. More, please... Chip Bergeron

Metro Tableau (Short Story) - 1/16/2012 9:01:43 AM
Metro Tableau is aching and yet captivating. This train moving backward and forward in the scene you describe well as you seem to stand still in a moment where time has stopped. It stirs a grief that makes me want to hug you and say it’ll be okay.

Raquette Lake (Short Story) - 10/6/2011 3:43:41 AM
Such a novel way to write a story, but perfect for accentuating the contrasts between the two families. So well written, and holding a lesson for us all, That is, don't judge anyone till you walk a mile in their shoes. Val Amor.

The Wren (Short Story) - 10/6/2011 3:31:11 AM
John, I love your stories. When I start reading one of yours, I just can't stop till it's finished. This one is a little like one of mine -- Yours is better, and longer, but will you take a look at mine? A short story (very short) called "Let's be Grateful." Thanks for this one. It is so well written, and touched me deeply.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 10/6/2011 3:14:42 AM
I so enjoyed this story.What memories it awakened. Thank you John. I love your writing style . . . Valerie J. Amor

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 5/31/2011 8:56:07 AM
Well done. I guess we've all been there and done it. But it was not easy. I hope all you girls appreciate our hesitance as John described. Thereafter of course, I know, we're at it too often! MIller www.netherholmpublications.co.uk

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 5/9/2011 3:21:56 PM
what a sweet recollection of your first kiss...how important that event...more then the person...the kiss. thanks so much for sharing - i thoroughly enjoyed going back in time for that first kiss...for you..and...for me. but...don't tell my husband ...tom! :)

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 3/12/2011 5:33:05 PM
It's wonderful that your first kiss turned into a lifetime of kissing with the same lovely woman. Congrats!

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 1/9/2011 1:14:44 PM
I LOVE THIS STORY

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 12/2/2009 7:48:36 PM
I remember my first love as if it was yesterday i can still smell her hair, thanks for taking this old fool back to a pleasant time.. good read excellent write...Eugene

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 11/19/2009 4:21:52 AM
Awww, wonderful memories. xx

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 10/31/2009 10:32:10 PM
Great story. Reminded me of a crush I had and the procrastation of telling him how I felt. I never told him, because I was shy and scared.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 9/13/2009 4:23:14 PM
I loved it! Great story. Yes, Tom was a bit faster. He kissed me in grade school...5th or 6th grade. Coleen

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 9/11/2009 11:39:08 AM
I like the staccato cadence of your writing. It seems you weigh each word, which I appreciate as a reader and respect as a writer.

The Wren (Short Story) - 7/16/2009 8:35:52 AM
Very nice, and moving.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 7/16/2009 7:26:06 AM
Nice story and well ended.

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 6/27/2009 1:51:49 PM
John, thanks for the compliment! You're right -- those were the days! Loved that age. Tom sent me the link so I could read your story. Glad you're doing well. Val

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 6/23/2009 5:27:09 PM
Precious memories, John, my first kiss happened on a Sunday drive. My friend Scotty had more experience in these matters and I observed his actions with the girl he was with and it looked like this kissing thing would be a lot of fun. I was nervous as all get out, heart beating fast,palms sweating,wondering just how to turn my head so my nose wouldn't get in the way, I turned to say something and she planted one on me. I immediately thought that I had died and gone to heaven. It was the beginning of what has been a lot of pleasure over the years, I still like smooching. Thanks for sharing. Robert Ballard

My First Kiss (Short Story) - 6/19/2009 6:36:10 PM
Dear John, This was precious--brought back memories of my own first kiss--surprising similiar lol. It's nice to se yoy here on the den. check out some of my stories under my name--Micki Peluso. Let me know when you write something else or track me here and I'll track you. Good track record with cindy-but I've got you be by a decade or mose <g> Micki Peluso

Healing from Grief (Article) - 6/4/2015 9:03:20 AM
What a terrible thing to have happen. I hope you recover from your grief and get on with living as you can. Some things, we can't change. Ron

Healing from Grief (Article) - 6/4/2015 6:20:03 AM
Thank you for recommending this link. May your grief be deep, healing and replenishing. Be well, Jan

Behind the Scenes in a Troubled Newsroom (Article) - 3/6/2014 8:03:26 AM
You can add this one to your list of "professional" reviews. I don't necessarily read whodunits, but there are a lot of people out there who seem to like to read them, so if your book is as well written and entertaining as your reviewer suggest, I'm sure you are gathering a following of readers. Ron

Why I'm a Man Writing as a Woman (Article) - 3/2/2014 4:01:30 AM
thought provoking read

I'm Afraid to Write! (Article) - 1/26/2014 4:45:48 AM
Well said, John. A little defiance never hurts, either. Best ...

I'm Afraid to Write! (Article) - 1/22/2014 4:22:53 PM
1-22-2014 Writers Are (Born) Innate! TRASK...

Advice on Writing a Novel (Article) - 9/27/2013 1:04:32 PM
That's good advice for anybody wanting information about marketing a novel. However, your article title led me think, initially, about the actual process of writing the novel which, as you rightly indicate, is arguably the most difficult aspect. These days, with so many writers self-publishing, I think the publishing world is beginning to accept - perhaps grudgingly - that it's better to let it in, instead of keeping the door closed. Roger Burke

Advice on Writing a Novel (Article) - 9/21/2013 9:47:51 AM
Just a thought: "Do you think I could start shopping it around before it's finished based on the content? Or would I need to go through several drafts and get it perfect before I tried to shop it around?" It took five complete re-writes and 24 (twenty-four) years to get my first novel, "the Climbing Boy" published and 28 years to have an agent, whom I no longer have. While trying and waiting for publishing I wrote and re-wrote and re-wrote "Becoming" then "For Better or Worse". And it then took another four years, after "The Climbing Boy" to get "Becoming" published and another three for "For Better or Worse". And, by the way, as back then was when a SASS (self addressed, self stamped envelope) was required I had, literally hundreds and hundreds of written rejections. Sorry, but I find it laughable that someone would think that, "Gee, I'm writing a novel and the whole world is sitting on pins and needles to read what I have written..." Your writer must be one of "The Instant Gratification Generation. But, for your part, John, very good advice. Mark Lichterman

5 Things a Professional Manuscript Editor Does (Article) - 11/29/2012 6:21:22 AM
Worthy words. Would add critique should also offer author choices.

A Son Remembers His WWII Dad (Article) - 10/17/2011 8:00:43 AM
War and fathers. Two very powerful and timely subjects, John. My own father passed away when I was four (he was 72), in 1950, so I had to acquire all that I know about him indirectly, through others' narratives, impressions and images. Da came from a long line of professional soldiers, beginning his own military career as a drummer boy for TR's famed regiment in the Spanish War and rising to the eventual rank of Major in the US Army. Da was a most unusual military man in that, like Patton, he was a student of history and a philosopher; as a result he left me a rich legacy of his personal observations (writings) on the human experience that I have always valued greatly. Beyond the intimate, personal nature of that experiential link with him and his times, this rich legacy of thoughts and reflective insights served to germinate within my own awarenesses a keen fascination for military history and the nature of war. Today, as I near the end of my own life cycle, I find myself concerned with the transmission of this knowledge to others who are nearer the start of their lives. In my own association with aerospace history I came to an early understanding that there is a book within each of us that deserves to be read by others. While particularly true of veterans, who have undergone experiences many of us may only remotely guess at, the majority of these 'books' will never see print. Thank you for sharing your own fraternal recollections with us in an era in which the role of a father in the family is assuming ever more critical importance as a wellspring of character and wisdom from which our children may draw forth that which is needed to grow and mature optimally. Aloha mai e, Kalikiano

You Should Write a Book (Article) - 3/2/2011 1:57:29 AM
Some real truths in this piece, the romance of writing a book is far divorced from the reality Very honest and usrful article. ken Wood Australia

Confessions of a Cross-Gender Writer (Article) - 7/8/2010 3:44:27 PM
I'm a girl borned in the wrong body i like being a girl.

Dealing with Criticism: Some Suggestions (Article) - 6/12/2010 5:11:42 AM
Yes I so agree with this John and I am beginning to work my manuscript/ For many months people are asking me when my book will be done and I still continue to write. If I only would stop to concentrate on the manuscript and get it done to send it off to someone for reviews. I am a proofreader also and I have edited it all but like you say here in the hands of a professional editor he or she may see something I did not. I take critique like I do anything, positive or negative it is all good, it teaches us much t least it has for me. I will also say without bragging rights I get nominations and good crits from peers and other authors so I must be doing something right. In the world of books, especially poetry books there is so much out there but I am determined to do this as I find writing has been both therapeutic for me and I love to express my words and feelings in every piece I write. I so like all you have entered here for others to review as you are an exceptional editor and I want to thank you for all your wonderful information. Good day to you and the family Mona

Hope Can Spring From Tragedy (Article) - 6/7/2010 9:49:33 PM
inspirational, thought provoking read, congratulations on your book

5 Things a Professional Manuscript Editor Does (Article) - 5/29/2010 5:59:57 AM
John, great ideas, these are things we need to know. Cheers, Dan

Hope Can Spring From Tragedy (Article) - 5/29/2010 5:55:12 AM
John, congratulations on your book, I hope it flies off the book shelves. Cheers, Dan

You Should Write a Book (Article) - 5/28/2010 6:16:19 AM
Thanks for the insightful advice, John. I just finished my first chapter and I feel absolutely drained. GOD BLESS YOU TONY

Whittling it Down (Article) - 5/26/2010 9:47:04 AM
Great article and very useful suggestion!! Thank you John!! Sandie Angel :o)

Dealing with Criticism: Some Suggestions (Article) - 5/10/2010 5:18:32 AM
Excellent advice! Cheers, Dan

Dealing with Criticism: Some Suggestions (Article) - 5/9/2010 2:50:27 PM
Thank you John, I wish every reviewer were as nice as you are. My wife Donna has received a review on Amazon stating that they wanted their money back. I told her not everyone is going to give a good review. We just have to take the good with the bad. Good article, John! Thanks, Bob Comer

You Should Write a Book (Article) - 4/26/2010 8:09:59 PM
I agree, this is a good idea. I've been wanting to write a book about myself for the longest time. Your idea is great!! Sandie Angel :o)

A Son Remembers His WWII Dad (Article) - 4/22/2010 3:51:09 PM
Picked this story and another wow factor as my father tells me his stories also and this one sheds me a tear. What a lovely article and I agree your father admired you and is still watching over you each day. My father too, has just in the last couple of months talked openly to me about the Korean War and what it did to him also. He is now approaching 76 and his health is not well and I treasure every moment with him. He is my hero and as I am his only daughter he is the one who inspires me to go the distance and always has. I felt your love in this article and again I say to you, so glad to have found you on here, your a wonderful person and I love your writings. Just amazing to me and very heartfelt. I also have some tapes of Dad singing but I shall get him to tell me his story like your Dad told you. Bravo young man, God Bless you and your family. Magics02

5 Things a Professional Manuscript Editor Does (Article) - 4/21/2010 7:38:36 PM
Very informative. Your the first I have read so much about on here, think I shall add you as my first favorite. I am impressed with your articles Just a mom here writing poetry.. Pen name is Magic

You Should Write a Book (Article) - 4/21/2010 6:10:07 AM
I have found this to be so true, I have changed mine from auto-bio to a novel. It has been 9 yrs in the making. lol x

You Should Write a Book (Article) - 4/21/2010 5:18:20 AM
Two of my three books, "Becoming" and "For Better or Worse" are what I call semi-fiction or faction. When asked, I tell people that the situations are pin-point remembrances's that I've embellished and built a fictional story around. I use the names of a number of people that are alive but never in negative terms, and those that are negative characters are all dead, and with these characters I do use fictional names. I think the hardest thing about writing a book, and the above named two books are both in excess of 700 pages, is the commitment of the time needed to write the book. Mark

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 8:01:35 PM
John, I sat here for some time trying to reach a decision as to whether it would be appropriate to respond to your post after such considerable time had passed. However, the memory you shared of your conversation with your son over "Metro Girl", followed by your son's own thoughts put to paper, were so sweet and insightful ... and so filled with a father's love that I simply wanted to acknowledge that I read "Metro Girl" and I am wiser person for doing so. I am so glad that you found his prose/poem. I am sure the loss of your son never gets easier, so may you and your family always find the strength and support you need. Jeanne

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/27/2012 11:53:43 AM
What a beautiful, tragic tale--a modern Romeo and Juliet, Trust that they will meet again in another life.

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/13/2012 6:28:00 AM
Absolutely beautifully written. It would be so awesome for her to read this piece. Thank you for sharing this!

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/8/2012 3:35:50 AM
Hi John: This is such a sweet poem. Your son, Stephen, obviously had care about this girl a lot. I'm so happy for you that you have found one of Stephen's fond memories. ((((( Hugs ))))) Sandi Angel

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/4/2012 11:20:43 AM
Tragic to lose a son, I lost a brother in 1975 on his 21st bday..there is a reason you found this poem beyond that it was for this girl that caught more than his eye...messages for his Dad are here as well..a gift...I am so sorry for your loss. Christine

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/1/2012 8:23:30 AM
sad, heartfelt write ... my condolences ... life has a tendency of letting the people we feel an affinity for, slip away ...

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/1/2012 7:12:58 AM
We all kick ourselves many times for missed chances. For who is to say how they may have turned out? Would our lives have turned out different? Answers to questions we will never know. Walt

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 5/1/2012 1:48:33 AM
A beautiful poem...this touched me,I am so sorry for your loss,he was very handsome and what a beautiful smile.Love to you and yours from Kay

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 9:23:33 AM
A touching story. There are many missed opportunities in life. I sense your son may have felt that she was beyond his station, working in that office. That often results in a missed connection even though there are sparks, purposely unfulfilled. Ron

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 9:06:09 AM
Extraordinary, endless lyrics John ~ I marvel at this piece for so many reasons. I'm desperately sorry for your loss, and he looks just like you, your smile. Blessings, Christine

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 5:40:53 AM
I cannot express adequately just how much this moved me...I am so sad for you on the loss of your son...You have managed however from the ashes of your grief to produce a piece of writing that is so evocative and conveys so much feeling... My belated condolences, Love, Diana...

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 5:31:41 AM
An honest, reflective and perfectly crafted piece which is totally absorbing in its introspection... Best wishes, Diana...

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 5:24:52 AM
This is an absolute masterpiece!...it stirred many heartfelt memories of my own Dad...The journey you take us on is heartbreaking yet dignified of a life well-lived with love at its heart... This is the best poem I have read for a very long time...one of the best I have ever read. Firmly tucked away in my library...Thank you...and thanks to your dear Dad also...

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 5:15:45 AM
This is utterly beautiful!...You have put into words what I have often felt and experienced...The photo is a perfect complement... Diana...

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 5:05:18 AM
How lovely you have immortalised this chance meeting and your sons words here...you have made the meeting momentous, and I'm sure your son would be happy about this... He was very gifted in his expression. God Bless Him, and you too... Love, Diana...

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 6:51:27 PM
Bravo John. I may be [unknowingly] a romantic at heart for I imagine a girl somewhere wishing she had taken the initiative and offered her digits, then thinking... "No - I don't want him to think I'm forward or desperate." Stephen was a handsome young man with a beautiful smile. May peace be upon you. :) Janna

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 4:19:59 PM
John, This is a wonderful memory of your son, I am very sorry for your loss he sounds like a fine son. Budd

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 2:39:02 PM
you really touched me. i feel like crying. i'm so sorry for your loss. i'm so sorry for his almost. i have tears glistening in my eyes right now. thank you for sharing this. i mean it from the bottom of my heart. and the poem isn't rough at all. it's very beautiful. god bless you for sharing it.

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 12:40:06 PM
Okay, I'll admit I weep at weddings, so it's no surprise this brought tears to my eyes. How beautiful. I have no other words for something so straight from a loving heart, and so romantic. What a precious memory of your son, John. Blessings to you, and to him.

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 11:50:39 AM
John, those one-in-a-million occasions are the memories that last forever. This was a wonderful poem. Cheers, Dan

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 10:46:37 AM
what a beautiful bitter-sweet message you've shared ... done with i imagine painful yet cathargic words. isn't it amazing how his words go out now as a reminder to so many to 'seize the day'...moment...hour. i like to imagine that the 'metro girl' will sometime read this and remember their encounter with regret that she too did not get the digits from this man on the subhappenstance

Metro Girl (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 9:13:47 AM
I'm sure if he saw her again, he would of been able to speak with her, his feelings were normal and he was a good writer also. i don't blame you for carrying it around with you, i would too, memories are always good to have and to know he was happy in life like this is such good therapy too. I thank you for sharing.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 10/28/2011 12:48:54 AM
Do I sense a touch of regret here? We all have those. The trick is to forgive yourself and everyone else. We are all different people to those who we were half our lives ago. Lovely poem, and so true.Thank you for sharing. Val.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 10/28/2011 12:42:36 AM
A bitter-sweeet memory retold so beautifully in your poem. Thank you John.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 10/28/2011 12:37:15 AM
This poem is so beautiful, but it breaks my heart -- not as much as it must have broken yours. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 10/1/2011 8:32:15 AM
Profound and deeply intense poem that says what is in your heart. We feel your loss through the words and it touches all of us. That is what poetry is about.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/24/2011 7:26:16 PM
Dear Heavens, John this sounds like a very sad day! My heart-felt condolances! Sandi

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/23/2011 5:47:43 AM
Dear John, So sorry for your loss, and perhaps for once, I'm at a loss for words to comfort. Blessings to you and yours...Frances

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/22/2011 11:37:47 PM
Well penned, John

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/20/2011 4:15:26 PM
the remnants and curios of death are surreal and disorienting ... grief can never be discarded ... my condolences ...

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/16/2011 5:37:31 PM
Oh John, I feel your pain as I lost a child too in a violent way. Writing saved my life, especially poems like yours that seem to portray the pain more than any other venue. I pray for you and your family and all who loved and lost him. Blessings and prayers, Micki Peluso

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/15/2011 10:20:34 PM
First of all John, my sincere condolences to you for you terrible loss!! Wot a joy to read such a poetic write, in light of all you and yours are feeling right now, truly inspiring, with such poignant metaphors for the situation. Well done. Stay well, blessings to you all. Cherry

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/13/2011 6:51:14 AM


Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:43:58 PM
What a stirring recollection. Janna

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:38:28 PM
My mind swims in the parallels of your poised grief. To vent so fluently with wounds so fresh… May you be comforted. Janna

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:20:31 PM
This is gut-wrenching. I feel the gloom of your terrible bereavement as you plod through necessary tasks. May God bless and comfort you. Today I attended a memorial service for a 22-yr. old mother of 3. Such a loss is a raw wound that will take a long, long time to heal and will never be forgotten. As I pray for my young friend's family, I will pray for you and yours. Connie

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:02:34 PM
Such a beauty here, John, the poet coming to terms with loss and pain that is so personal and real. My deepest condolences. John

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 3:51:06 PM
The analogy between a funeral and taking out the garbage hits hard, also the pieces of a life discovered along the way. Thank you for sharing. Chip Bergeron

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 3:39:13 PM
Moving poem...my condolences on your loss. Sue

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 11:20:44 AM
John, I'm not much good at poetry either, but I often put my deepest emotions into the lines of a poem which nobody will ever see. but me. Your poem spoke to my heart and I walked beside you as you trudged up the stairs.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 10:22:08 AM
Poignant. I hope cathartic as well. It is hard to wrap your brain around these things. I have not lost a child, thank god. But I am within the support system of 4 people who are very close to me that have lost children who were adult or late teen. Only mentioning in case you would like to add supportive friends, John. Love and hugs! I pray that you and yours will find peace in your minds and hearts.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 10:04:35 AM
Pure soul touching poetry...thank you for sharing!! Love Tinka

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 7:51:44 AM
"But their life ended too soon...like his - puddles of fuchsia tears. 'not much of a poet'? - I think, you've stumbled upon your poet's voice. It often comes in our darkest hours and speaks to help us through these moments. Again and again, my heart is woeful for your loss and words too slight for pertinent relevance. While today it's yours, at any given moment it could be mine or someone else's. Blessings for you and your family, as empathy is all that I may offer. Peace and Strength be Yours, Sudo Nym

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 7:46:12 AM
John real poetry comes from the heart. We all deal with things in different ways. I think this is eloquently stated. You are a poet, sir. I would also like to add my belated condolences. Walt

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 7:44:56 AM
Wow! Brilliant. I read this three times..the third time..wow.. profound. Thinking of you...

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 7:27:22 AM
Moving. I am saddened by your loss. Blessings, R

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:33:02 AM
Mr. DeDakis, there are no words than can come close to this pain...wondering why anything matters anymore, deadlines, trash, waking up... wondering how life goes on all around you...all is nothing but a garbage day after such a loss, with this kind of pain. My heart aches for you and your family... In Spirit, Bear

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:07:54 AM
John, an absolutely beautiful piece of writing... Cheers, Dan

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 6:06:28 AM
Forget not being "much of a poet." Your poem brought across the point of your poem. It will always have meaning to you and yours. It also had for me. Well done.

Garbage Day (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 5:55:35 AM
John, I am so sorry for your loss please accept my condolences to you and your family. Through your words, one can feel the pain and and sadness of loss through the simple job of taking out the trash. This was a stunning piece of writing...I wish you and your family much peace. Dan

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 5/26/2011 6:48:42 AM
Yep, I think we all can say that. I would like to read this ten years from now, if I ever see my ex-husband, to see if he realizes what mistakes he's made and has forgiven mine. It's nice to be friends after all these years. It's just so easy to hate, more so than be friends. But, this says it all.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 5/25/2011 6:54:46 PM
so heart felt. My dad didn't get a chance to do that, they just took him, it's hard to leave the home you knew, but you have memories, to keep them and him alive. so well written and this will stay with me, for along time.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 5/17/2011 10:17:17 AM
Excellent use of the word "hush" to show respect. An excellent tribute, John, and well done. Nice to meet you, I'm new here. Bob

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/3/2011 12:15:35 PM
The reverence in this piece is pronounced and quite moving! lovely! Sandi

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 2/2/2011 6:14:56 AM
Hello John, so well written. Susan

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 1/12/2011 5:59:28 AM
A true poetic memoir. I really like this. Its real and packed with feelings and introspection.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/11/2011 4:14:02 PM
Definitely a heart toucher

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 12:13:04 PM
Very Very reverent and charming. I really enjoyed the read. Thank you so much for sharing. Karen

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 10/13/2010 4:32:23 PM
John, I understand and enjoyed your words. I mentioned a post I left at my site here at Authors Den "You Asked Me To Dance." I know you will enjoy it. The story is true, which I have many like this due to many losses in my life at an early age. I certainly enjoyed your poem. Sincerely, Nancy

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 8/22/2010 11:35:49 AM
Beautiful call for silence to listen.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 4/22/2010 8:51:51 AM
Wow I just loved this write of yours. I felt I could really relate to this piece as I am in my early fifties and I can see my half lives ago. Your readings have inspired me and I look forward to reading more of your works. I see your a very talented young man here. Kudos to you and so nice to meet you. Ms Magics:)

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/21/2010 7:42:36 PM
Wow shed a tear here. How beautiful this is and thank you for writing it. Magics

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/17/2010 6:14:10 PM
This one really touched my heart. . .wonderfully.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/17/2010 6:12:06 PM
I hope you come together with the heart that was born "half your lives ago". . .and find the treasures that used to glow. If not, I too, feel sad for you.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/17/2010 6:01:49 PM
"I stop and stand silent on a patch of sacred ground, A solitary figure straddling the short distance separating Life from eternity." Beautiful. Simply beautiful.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 2/23/2010 5:37:41 AM
Love this, John... Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 11/18/2009 6:44:46 AM
These words penned are very profound! John I found this poem interesting, "A solitary figure straddling the short distance separating Life from eternity." Much Love, Margaret, Inspire Hope

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 10/16/2009 5:44:50 PM
I can respect this and enjoy at the same time. I love to look at the really old head stones and imagine who they were. Thanks for this John. PS. Hush, you just might hear them

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 9/24/2009 12:00:16 PM
I loved the picture you painted with your words.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 9/10/2009 4:28:10 AM
John - Loved the contrast of the peacefulness of the cemetery and the roar of the Parkway, Hush Their lives have stopped, yet the souls of So many others speed past them, oblivious. The "oblivious" works on both the literal and figurative level. The repetition of "hush" throughout the poem creates a gentle peacefulness in sound and meaning, especially that last "hush." Hush I stop and stand silent on a patch of sacred ground, A solitary figure straddling the short distance separating Life from eternity. Hush I'll be back to read more. - David

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 6/29/2009 7:45:32 PM
I'm a bit late getting here, John, but so glad I finally got the chance to read your beautifully crafted Cemetery at Sunset. Having spent a number of years in the District, I am quite familiar with Rockcreek Park--and in fact miss it. -gene.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 6/20/2009 2:24:27 PM
You wrote: A solitary figure straddling the short distance separating Life from eternity. Hush * * * ...straddling the short distance... Heard, if only. Understood, if we dare. Great work here, John. Be blessed!

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 5/5/2009 3:32:31 AM
Wonderful! The love you have for your father is strongly evident in this piece. Precious moments in time aren't the ones we spend doing large things, rather the quiet moments connecting with loved ones. Nice job!

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 5/5/2009 3:29:52 AM
Very nicely penned. This poem gave me a peaceful feeling. Hush

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 11:57:03 AM
Very nice reflection, John....the ways of youth viewed from the seat of maturity. How many times have I thought of how I might have done things differently, but the thoughtfullness for what actually was, there is a better reward.....Jerry

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 11:54:05 AM
You touched me even though you frightened me for a moment that he might pour his drink over his cereal...already been amongst those who mix whiskey and coffee. I liked the write, especially in light of the recent loss of my own father...Jerry

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 11:49:47 AM
I echo the thoughts of others here that I greatly appreciate the contrast between the hush for the dead and the place as connected to the bustle of the living, a well-done contrast coupled with the feelings of respect and awe....Jerry

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/4/2009 5:21:22 AM
The eerie part of this for me right now is that they just issued an arrest warrant to that Salvadoran illegal alien in the case of Chandra Levy (whose remains were found in Rock Creek Park - for those unfamiliar with the case). May she now rest in peace. It's been a long time since I last walked through Rock Creek Park, but in spute of all of the hustle and bustle, I think we should heed the warning an hush.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/4/2009 5:13:01 AM
It is such a hard thing to have to watch as our elders submit to letting of the things that they and their beloved cherished so much in order to move on and learn how to live alone again (maybe not entirely alone - just without their beloved). I also got a bit teary-eyed while reading this. I loved the title, too.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/4/2009 5:05:50 AM
Wow! I can definitely relate to this one. I am in my 40s now and have done that, not once, but twice within the last three years. The seventh stanza definitely rings true in both situations. I once again let go of the one that I met straight out of college, but the one that I dated in high school is still a great friend.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 8:10:48 AM
You not only capture the serenity of the cemetery of the ones who have earned their peaceful rest; but also the busy bodies who are striving everyday to get there. I love this poem!! Sandie Angel :o)

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 1/13/2009 11:39:09 AM
My first love is my present love, twenty-five years and two children later. Our love is not the idylic infatuation of yester-year, but a deep pond of giving, sharing, and becoming--a pond whose surface reflects the environment we have created. I sometimes catch a glimpse of myself mirrored on the glassy surface of our pond, and know that I am growing older. The same reflection lights my beloved's eyes with admiration, and I know that he sees beyond the toll that time has taken and basks in the treasures of our deep, deep, pond--a love that began 'half our lives ago.' A sweet sentiment, John, that got me thinking about the love of my life both yesterday and today. Beautifully penned.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 12/27/2008 2:55:44 PM
There is nothing like the solemnity of a cemetery to turn our thoughts to deep and mysterious musings. Thank you for sharing "Cemetery at Sunset." Linda

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 6:33:36 AM
This piece is a beautiful and reflective piece. This is my favorite part of the poem, "We're fifty now, or close to it, Long removed from an island summer of frolic -- and fudge, We talked about God, but experienced forbidden pleasure." It sums up life so beautifully, as we can all relate to a more simple time in our lives when we were carefree and enjoyed what I call "the decadent" times of exploration and forbidden pleasures. This poem has so much deep meaning, and reminded me of my earlier years. I am 41, but I think back at my younger years and see how much I have grown, and have changed. This is an excellent poem. Stop into my authors den if you have a chance.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 6:29:08 AM
Memories never dim. Your memory will always be in your heart. I love your writing style, as I was able to see the faded photos in my mind, as you described the way you sat by the crackling fire. This is a very moving and touching poem. It reminds me of the stories and times that I had spent visiting with my grandfather. The simple things about a special person in our life are the things that we remember the most. I can picture the old house in my head, as you write so descriptively. Wonderful poem! Stop into my authors den if you have a chance

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 8:43:38 AM
Yes, I agree! This is a somber subject. My first wife died of cancer and it took over 20yrs. to write about our experiences during the last days of her life. I have the short story on my Author's Den Website. Please visit when you have time. Blessings, John Michael

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 7/12/2008 2:23:59 PM
You provide pause for reflection, John. Mayhaps that's why I want to be cremated. I do love the way you expressed this though. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 5:00:20 PM
Intense and compelling. Superb writing! Wanda

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 6/15/2008 11:52:16 AM
He not really all gone, but is here with us in his spirit and on Father's Day this is a great tribute to write about him. It fits today and he was a great man and remembering him this way is so great of you. Back in those days, men were different than today and felt more for their families too and did more. Today eveyone is so busy, and no time for them to get together always. A great trip you took that day with your Father, and memories made for all time. Peace and love go out to you and yours.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 6/15/2008 11:49:22 AM
This is a true write from your heart, reliving that first love, and saying what remembrances come from it. Things change fast and yet some things remain in our hearts forever and stay forever. Half our lives ago is so sentimental poetry, it is well worth reading and pondering over. Good luck to you in your future still.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 6/13/2008 11:07:23 AM
My Father's birthday March 23 1908 and also his death day March 23 1972. I love to visit the cemetery and now have to go see Hubby Tom Aug 17 07, I probably told you his date before, anyway this photo is so fantastic, and your write is so endearing to me. I just have a thing with cemeteries and won't let go. I am so glad I read you write today, it will be in another month Tom would have gone a year, and I still don't know where I am coming from or going. Mostly that is quite frustrating too. But therapy is the den and the good poems here too.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 6/9/2008 1:10:33 PM
Love the opposites in this poem. The peaceful cemetery versus the busy road. Love the use of "Hush" here - it shows respect and continues to enhance the different scenes. The last full line is thought provoking. Great imagery~ Sheila

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 5/4/2008 8:03:19 AM
Your words have captured the picture perfectly!!

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/27/2008 10:46:59 AM
I'm glad I backed up to check on postings while I was away from the den or else I would have missed this one! A very intense offering my friend, deep and moving indeed! You take the reader there with your outstanding imagery...thought provoking, and very compelling, lingers on one's thoughts! Blessings, Joyce B.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 4/20/2008 10:42:25 PM
I really enjoyed how I got a sense of you in this poem. I was first attracted to visit your profile and works by your quote and bio pic; and when I read this poem it was sort of a climax for me regarding who you are

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/8/2008 5:08:37 PM
This is deep and soulful. The photograph adds to the intensity of the poem. Stephanie

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 8:41:07 PM
Beautiful original luminescent heart-wrenching.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 8:31:41 PM
Wonderfully felt, wonderfully written--universal feelings, too.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 8:29:06 PM
Great writing.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/3/2008 7:11:38 AM
What a marvelous play with words and great penmenship! A moving work of art...indeed...and might I add... a very thought provoking poem displaying creativity and raw talent. Thanks for sharing.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 4/1/2008 12:59:23 PM
A compelling write, Holly

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 11:12:10 PM
Tears here. Beautiful...enough said.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 11:10:00 PM
Honest...beautiful...feeling a sense of regret. "Now when we flirt, it’s with retirement, not each other,"...my favorite line.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 11:05:59 PM
I read this poem twice...first quietly and then aloud. Beautiful...in sound and in imagery.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/30/2008 3:21:29 PM
Deep peaceful atmosphere described with all those "s" and "sh" sounds. I love the imagery in "Their lives have stopped, yet the souls of So many others speed past them, oblivious" full of contrasts, full of truth. Axilea

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 7:44:59 AM
Timeless memories of one you held/hold so dear.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 7:42:57 AM
Words after my own heart...beautiful

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 7:40:45 AM
Amazing poem....hush....I should hush now

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 7:12:40 AM
Beautifully and profoundly penned.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/24/2008 3:32:55 PM
A cemetery can be a place of refuge from the stresses of life, a quiet place to reflect and pray. You have written a gorgeous poem, accompanied by a gorgeous photograph. Very fine piece. Connie

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/24/2008 8:25:42 AM
Intriguing. Conjures many ponderings and brings me to the thought that nothing ever really ends, but is only transformed to something else.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/24/2008 2:12:33 AM
it can take a while to put words to experiences... sometimes words refuse to stick to internal feelings... i think you have captured my attention well and drawn me into this experience... you know... i used to be petrified of cemetaries... i couldnt go near them and if i did i never slept for weeks afterward. im not sure why i stopped being so scared of them but now... now they can be such peaceful places, far from the hustle and bustle of life. what strikes me most about this piece is the seemingly forgottenness of this cemetery and therefore those who rest there. its too easy to forget those who have passed away... not on purpose...just life keeps happening and our grief runs out of time somehow... beautiful piece.

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 5:32:34 PM
Done so skillfully. Great repetition of Hush. Can't be better and what a topic!

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 5:22:20 PM
...your write...holds quiet moments...and in solitude...your words speak peacefully...of reverent ground given much beauty in your imagery. excellent pen here John...

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 5:17:20 PM
John, OH!!! Sighhhhh A Gorgeous Photo!! I Love Cemeteries, Graves, & Mausoleums. I hope to visit an underground Mausoleum someday soon. Your Poem Is Fantastic! I Love It! "I stop and stand silent on a patch of sacred ground, A solitary figure straddling the short distance separating Life from eternity." Beautiful!! & True! Embrasse' Vickie

Cemetery at Sunset (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 4:52:37 PM
Oh my gosh, John ... I don't know what to say. This poem is magnificent, a true work of art. I feel embraced by the quiet of your cemetery, in awe of the absolute truth of what you have conveyed. I almost want to cry, but maybe it's just my mood. Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/22/2008 6:53:47 PM
I really enjoyed this it brought a tear to my eyes. The treasured memories of those we hold so dear remain in our hearts always where their legacy lives on. Best wishes, Pisces

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 7:03:08 AM
Good Morning John, I felt your memory as if it were my own, it is a sad thing letting go. Not of the House...but of the Home. It's very hard to do & for some impossible, and then for some crippling. Ok I think I need a tissue this morning.....Memories Are Powerful & Contagious!!! Embrasse' Vickie

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/11/2008 4:15:12 AM
Hello John, I enjoyed your poetic express of young love & the maturity of the journey. I myself only wanted love back in those days, and never even knew what it really was in all actuality. Or I was in Love with the idea of Love-I am not sure. I do envy couples who have been together from the beginning of their Quests With Love. I find them to be truly blessed. Embrasse' Vickie

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/9/2008 2:46:42 PM
This brought back memories of my G-Pa & G-ma Amy (they loved Southern Comfort. See my poem Encased in Memories, it's based on them). Your writing paints such a vivid picture in my mind, it's like a tape in my head recording the scene both visually and audibly. I am visibly moved. Janet

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 3:12:06 PM
This really moved me and I can relate. At 49, I wonder at times about the love of my 20's. I am happy though and grateful for a walk down my own memory lane. Janet

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 9:10:50 AM
Wonderous write, thanks for taking me along on the journey with your Dad. Although this is sad, to have had such a memory with my dad (he died when I was five) would have been a blessing as I would've had more time with him. Sandy

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 2/22/2008 11:29:13 AM
Come September...these two figures continue on in their lives with the beauty they share in a genuine, honest way. I know...I've been there too. Blessings and love, Susan

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 2/22/2008 11:26:39 AM
Sad and overwhelming with emotions of the past and, just about, anyone's future. To my bones I felt this in memory of my dear uncle and when I brought him to Savannah from his home in Cornelia. Blessings and love to your wonderful heart. Susan

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 2/12/2008 11:52:44 AM
Memories well-shared via your verses, John. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 2/5/2008 1:21:15 PM
There was a breath of a poem in this peice, but I rather took it as prose. It didn't steal a bit of the pleasure i've had. You really have style and talent. While the soul of your poems is perfect, the body has to suffer a bit. If you understand what I mean:) I like it that you didn't try to make your poem original and modern. I hate it when people do that. You just wrote what you felt, and I suppose you would do much better writing short novels and stories, where you don't have to care about shape, and I don't have to read the same line several times trying to find the best rhytm. Ending up my HONEST comment I would like to say that someone, who writes things like these, must be wise. It's a pleasure to know you.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 2/5/2008 1:12:38 PM
I liked the idea. Honestly, I think that personal poems mean more than generals one thousands of people can relate to. The poem must be YOURS. I like using 'he' and 'she' persons in poems and I often do it too. It's lovely. Yet, I found it difficult to read a poem with almost no rhytm. There were places where your metrics and rhyme were steady, but then they skipped of again. Behind it all, the message is touching in its intimacy.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 2/4/2008 2:29:06 PM
Beautiful write! blessings...Frances

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/30/2008 6:37:58 AM
Oh My, you took me there and introduced me to your special Dad. Great poem, heart touching.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/29/2008 11:48:03 AM
Such nostalgia, such love, such memories! You have a way of gripping your reader's heart with simple honesty and sentiment. Gina

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 1/29/2008 11:44:55 AM
You express the ups and downs of life very well here...the wistful questions...the losses and the change in perspective...you pack a whole lot of philosophy into a few lines...and the need to hold on, even if on a different level. Well done. Gina

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/24/2008 12:08:29 PM
The words are lovely, the thoughts poignant--a wonderful poem.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 1/24/2008 7:43:17 AM
Interesting journey John...one I've been on as well and asking the same questions. Be well, Holly

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/22/2008 5:12:27 PM
Difficult to read at the moment as my own Father just passed away...life is so short, so precious, Holly

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/22/2008 9:02:25 AM
A touching write filled with heart and soul of memories of your dad that will forever last a lifetime...well done! Blessings, Joyce B.

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 1/21/2008 5:24:18 AM
Emotions sit on the surface of these well-expressed words. Honesty, regret, nostalgia, uncertainty seem to all rise up and pull the reader in. It feels like a movie - like Bridges of Madison County, perhaps.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/17/2008 12:41:02 PM
The is a real Cerealistc Poem! Keep Frosting up sweet poems.

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 9/15/2007 8:58:23 PM
You really got me with this one. I remember my dad with his war stories, and especially how much he loved those trees in the back yard. Beautiful Poem

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 9/15/2007 8:43:54 AM
Losing a parent brings back so many memories. Helping them close a part of their lives is something you will charish for a lifetime. Heartfelt, deep emotion. Thank you for sharing this most personal time with your Dad. This poetry brings back many memories of my own Dad, also. Rhoda

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 9/14/2007 8:07:43 PM
Great title for this poem of reflection. Wonderful memories as the way it should be. Reading your submission leave a good feeling within. Rhoda LI, NY

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 5/31/2007 12:06:52 AM
John, I can really feel deep inside what it is you're conveying in this beautifully written poem. Thanks for sharing! God Bless! Mary E Tilley

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 2/21/2007 4:47:44 AM
I am right there in that wonderfully written tunnel of time and reflection. Beautifully project processing of a time . . . Thanks! I am so glad I found your writings now! Linda (L. K. Craft)

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 2/20/2007 4:15:03 AM
So touching and wonderfully written. Great imagery of a part of your life that was precious. Great writing! L. K. Craft

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 1/16/2007 11:45:41 PM
THIS is what I call a poem! You have talent John. I don't dare call myself a poet..LOL! I only write thoughts that churn within my heart and soul! I can relate to this gem of a write. An avalanche of memories struck me as I read your words. Thankyou John! Vesna:)

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 12/5/2006 4:28:11 PM
I can relate to what the author is experiencing right now, as I am going through the same passages with my Dad. Also, I like the fact that is a good old fahioned poem. Imagery and rhyme pattern are lovely. Well done-- I was getting teary-eyed while reading it. (Thanks a lot!)

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 11/18/2006 11:20:08 AM
Beautifully sweet strong colorful memories enjoyed!

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 11/16/2006 7:10:41 PM
Sweet

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 11:22:08 AM
Wow. This really touches the heart. I think death, dying, leaving could have been better planned by the Creator. It's too wrenching the way it is. Love this...you were a good son. Elizabeth

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 10:39:41 AM
Old homesteads, special memories shared, with the most special people of our lives, and recalling forever more...such welcomed reflections! I love looking back! I loved this write! And so nice to meet you, John Love and Peace~ Kimmy

Of Frosted Flakes and Southern Comfort (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 9:11:14 AM
This is sad and beautiful at the same time. Rusty

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 11:30:51 PM
John, ..."life-defining" moments so earnestly penned...I truly enjoyed Half Our Lives Ago and found myself smiling with understanding. ...jeanne...

Half Our Lives Ago (Poetry) - 5/15/2006 1:12:49 PM
I love that you were so honest in this poem, that what we hold on to on that sleeve is who we were then, not the persons we are, great poem.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.