AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Richard Orey, iC Schutter, iRoxanne Howe-Murphy, iKaren Dunn, iLindsey Webster, iDave Cole, iEugene Meyer, i
 
Home > Douglas W Bentley
 

Recent Reviews for Douglas W Bentley


What Will It Take For A Toad To Kiss A Monkey (Book) - 7/31/2010 4:59:23 PM
I own this book and it is absolutely adorable ! It's a wonderful book to have in a mother's hands, and the pictures are lots of fun too ~ Fine entertainment as well as a good moral -- Reviewed by Christine Tsen

What Will It Take For A Toad To Kiss A Monkey (Book) - 8/28/2008 8:44:32 AM
You write children's books like my good friend on the den and in my life from way back when she lived near my cousin in PA. Bonnie May writes terrific children's stories too. If you have time, you might like to look into her site too. She has been a friend to me many years and also has a very bad heart condition she deals with daily too.

What Will It Take For A Toad To Kiss A Monkey (Book) - 8/7/2007 10:57:06 PM
I like the teaching that we ought not judge a book by its cover. The story sounds well written, with a beautiful Idyllic background that children will enjoy.

haiku - What is it? (Short Story) - 6/16/2014 2:48:37 PM
I like your haiku

haiku - What is it? (Short Story) - 8/6/2010 7:27:52 AM
That's a gorgeous haiku, and I get it! It's the cycle of life and very lovely with the plum blossoms and all! As for the information, this is of great import and really appreciated information Doug-- Blessings, Christine

Blue Sea Lilies (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 8:35:30 AM
Very nice!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Blue Sea Lilies (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:54:07 AM
Pure Delight to read... Diana....

Blue Sea Lilies (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 5:55:48 AM
Lovely just Lovely...Hugsss

Blue Sea Lilies (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 9:51:46 AM
Your poem appears to be a natural allegory for a passionate and volatile relationship. Ron

Blue Sea Lilies (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 9:23:40 AM
There's a lot of freedom and beauty about existence here, a lovely abundant piece of writing :) Blessings, Christine

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 5/1/2015 12:01:32 AM
A surge of heroism that is often instilled in young men by those who perhaps have never been there... You have captured and described the feeling well... Diana...

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 4/28/2015 6:03:33 AM
Strikes me as the mentality that young men often seem to possess when going to war. Some of them don't ride after that day again. Ron

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 4/28/2015 5:55:48 AM
Ride on. Michael D.

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 5:30:39 PM
wowww..I love this...Hugsss

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 2:26:13 PM
Interesting poem, you leave the reader to try to anticipate . . .

Fast Horse (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 1:22:06 PM
What an absolutely stunning poem. It has a mysterious aspect, and is full of emotion. Blessings, Christine

The Rest of the Way (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:12:39 AM
I've been away so long and just read this. Are you okay? This is so heart felt and I hope you are okay. Blessings, Christine

The Rest of the Way (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 10:20:26 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!! I LIKE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

The Rest of the Way (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 3:22:41 AM
lovely writing..nice to read you again..

The Rest of the Way (Poetry) - 3/28/2015 11:25:26 PM
Wonderful inspiring piece, a blessing to read.

The moon, the sun and the stars (Poetry) - 3/9/2015 5:25:06 AM
Misunderstanding is quite common leading to the end of many a romance. It seems your poetry did not put her in a trance… And that's a good thing. Ron

The moon, the sun and the stars (Poetry) - 3/9/2015 5:19:08 AM
Your heart shows in this one. Love, at times, weighs the heart down. The last stanza is moving, palpable and crystal-clear to me. Misconceived, misconstrued, misinterpreted, whatever word one chooses, being misunderstood is onerous and more rampant than ever. The worst kind is when you try and explain to another that they're misunderstanding you but they are so arrogant and self-consumed that they try and convince you that you're wrong. Haha. Enjoyed this one Doug. Take care. r

Buddy, can you Spare a Dime (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 7:15:52 AM
Your poetic story reads more like fact than fiction. Gambling is sure to cause turmoil in one's life. We all gamble one way or another, but to do it blatantly in public with all the cards down can be devastating. Especially, when bullets start flying. Ron

Buddy, can you Spare a Dime (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 9:00:20 PM
A rip roarin' story. Michael D.

Buddy, can you Spare a Dime (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 4:34:01 PM
A great story, fun & dramatic all at the same time...and sorry, no I cannot spare a dime, nor a nickel or a penny...I am more dirt poor than the dirt poor are anymore...enjoyed this...-e-

Buddy, can you Spare a Dime (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 12:23:39 PM
Hahaha... A riveting story, Doug, rife with puns, and tongue-in-cheek scenarios. A bullet in the eye seems a done deal dude. (-: Enjoyed... r

Life Unknown (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 8:23:41 AM
The future is never ours to know. Michael D.

Life Unknown (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 6:45:44 AM
Life unknown can be a challenge or an opportunity. It depends upon our outlook. Change is probably the scariest unknown. Young people seem to embrace it, while the elderly resist. Since the elders ruled tribes in villages were so long and are now ensconced in the hallowed halls of government, positive change comes hard because it's always resisted. But I think your poem is about being in one's comfort zone… Not about that. Ron

The Old Hollow Tree (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 4:54:13 PM
This filled me with a sense of real sadness as I have witnessed similar things... We had an Old Oak tree nearby which they cut down ...never found out why...but life just isn't the same without it.... A warning here for all.... Diana....

The Old Hollow Tree (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 9:40:32 AM
There is a real lesson embedded in this parable for children. Sometimes, while in the act of destroying our environment we get a guilty feeling after the act is done… When it's too late to do anything about it and make things the way they were before. Some of the readers didn't seem to get it. Ron

The Old Hollow Tree (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:24:00 PM
This has a simply beautiful rhythm attuned to the natural and spiritual worlds. Blessings, Christine

The Old Hollow Tree (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 12:21:48 PM
Loved this engrossing poem, Douglas. Mattered not if you were the one who cut down the old hollow tree, you were there . . . Fair game!

The Old Hollow Tree (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 12:02:00 PM
A fine story/poem Doug. Your best-ever work I'm thinking. The moral in this is universal and the spiritual metaphors abound. Hoping all is well. Peace... rlc

My Silence (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 8:57:46 AM
Wonderful to have 'that' type of connection!

My Silence (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 8:14:05 AM
As Native Americans say, "That's some powerful medicine." Ron

Tiny Dancer (Poetry) - 1/10/2015 11:49:29 AM
Very sweetly and romantically expressed ~

Tiny Dancer (Poetry) - 1/8/2015 10:26:14 AM
I remember those days and have danced around the campfire of a electric guitar. My tiny dancer is still doing it. I'm encouraging her enter America's Got Talent, because she still has. Brought back memories as I remember watching sparks float up into the sky. Ron

Tiny Dancer (Poetry) - 1/8/2015 8:28:24 AM
Thank you for introducing your readers to "Tiny Dancer," Douglas. Love and peace to you, Regis

Tiny Dancer (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:16:07 PM
This poem really amazes. Brings back memories of me semi-hippy dazes. Was a Greenwich Village teenager. Danced with strangers & survived much danger. Thank you for the "Total Recall" reflection Douglas.

Tiny Dancer (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 12:11:41 PM
Nicely imaged and romantic. I'm thinking 'Tiny Dancer' would make a fascinating YouTube production. But that's just me. Incidentally Doug... this format is much better than the first was. Well done! Enjoyed. Peace...

(05)One More Morning (Poetry) - 10/9/2014 8:03:17 AM
Or as Lynyrd Skynyrd said, Just give 3 steps and you'll never see me no more. It's samazing what us old timers have in wisdom. now if we could just get someone to listen to us. Michael D.

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:34:10 PM
well said

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:33:21 PM
very nice

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:32:51 PM
well done

(08)Don't Bug Me (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:32:06 PM
good one

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:31:31 PM
thought provoking read

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:31:06 PM
well done

(04)Aposiopesis [Sudden Silence] (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:29:49 PM
I like this

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 8:18:33 PM
well said, wonderful piece of poetry.

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 6:29:32 PM
So much wisdom is in this poem. Wisdom gained from experience I gather. Well done!

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 10:20:49 AM
well said

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 9:07:31 AM
At some point, childhood ends for everyone. And some people stay as "children of God" all their lives. Others can cut that cord easily when it becomes meaningless. Ron

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 7:46:11 AM
loved the way you've described the healthy and not so healthy cutting of ties and ended with a humorous yet profound observance of truth. nice write douglas....pat

(22)Cut the Cord (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 6:39:51 AM
You've managed, well, to blend humor and earnestness in a short, honest, heartfelt, write. Your summation, 'Let that cord remain', is a fine exhortation for anyone struggling through trying seasons. Romans 8: 38-39. And that includes circumstance. Stay the course in all faith ole friend. Light and wisdom... rlc

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 2/2/2014 11:43:15 AM
I really love the way this flows, I think its brilliant. Life always throws curveballs. H.D

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 11/14/2013 9:56:36 AM
The is always that next time. Good one Doug.

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 11/1/2013 12:00:19 AM
Great poetic expression Doug! There will be another time and place. This was a learning experience so next time you will not come in second place - ever again! Amen!

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 4:05:54 PM
Hauntingly descriptive, Doug Always Vivian

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 4:05:02 PM
Life sometimes sucks...e

(18)Ship Wrecked (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 9:47:36 AM
Life is full of missed opportunities. Ends like that old song, “Down in the Valley.” Ron

(25)The Natural State of Descriptive Poetry (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 8:44:20 AM
POWERFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

(25)The Natural State of Descriptive Poetry (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 8:40:19 AM
Pure poetry of a life filled with laughter that is expressed with the underlying aspects that can't be filtered in life.

(25)The Natural State of Descriptive Poetry (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 8:39:48 AM
We are all consumed by something, whether it's the urge to write and save all of our poems or a belief in an ancient mythical religion. Once we get a handle on what is consuming us, we can lead a more balanced life. Ron

(25)The Natural State of Descriptive Poetry (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 8:25:37 AM
A totally endearing glimpse in, and what a sophisticated verse. This is a poem that stirs the compassionate hearts of readers. Blessings, Christine

(25)The Natural State of Descriptive Poetry (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 6:36:11 AM
A melancholy (and yet hopeful) slice of personal awareness here, Doug. The momentum gets going nice in the second stanza. the message is clear. You work always feels unadulterated to me. Enjoyed! "I live in cardboard boxes with wallpapers of poems Stapled to my heart"... a stark image here, one that's easy to commiserate with. Hoping all is well ... richard

(23)A Brick Inside The Temple (Poetry) - 8/2/2012 6:11:20 PM
Insightful, elegant and poignant. It reads well.

(23)A Brick Inside The Temple (Poetry) - 6/26/2012 11:01:29 AM
Indeed! And in that temple the bricks are made of gold so pure its transparent. These multi-faceted insights are burgeoning, Doug, and are as a refreshing breeze across a sweat-beaded brow. peace and continued inspiration ... rlc

(23)A Brick Inside The Temple (Poetry) - 6/26/2012 10:35:27 AM
I am in awe..masterful Doug, my favorite of yours!

(24)Genetic Inheritance (Poetry) - 6/10/2012 7:52:49 AM
Wisdom and Growth...in the end we hope to get it, your poem displays just that ~inspiration breathes~

(24)Genetic Inheritance (Poetry) - 6/8/2012 7:57:54 AM
I truly believe that genetics plays a much larger part in our behavior than social scientists and educators would believe exists. It seems that all the bad things that exist because people do them stems directly from genetic defects built into our psyche that overcome the right thing. Interesting write. Ron

(24)Genetic Inheritance (Poetry) - 6/7/2012 7:46:35 AM
A kind of poetic apologetics. Fine work DWB. Certainly, when we all close our eyes in death, everyone will know (without equivocation) the ramifications of their Earthly choices. Stay your course and endure (in all faith) the seasons sent to test and refine. richard

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/6/2012 12:05:11 PM
Your theme "speaks" timelessly and universally... ...indeed this is a place of chaos. Thank you, Douglas. Love and peace to you, Regis

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/6/2012 5:43:29 AM
the grand perspective well stated, douglas.

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 3:39:25 PM
Breathtaking ,glorious writing Douglas! I'll keep this to enjoy many times. Thank you! Love, Eileen

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/3/2012 3:51:04 PM
We truly do live on the edge breath to breath, war and natural disasters are massive, the beauty of our creator and miraculous gifts balance what we need to get through times~ He is my rock! Blessings, Christine

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/3/2012 1:27:07 PM
I concur with the other viewers ... excellent work ...

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/3/2012 10:00:54 AM
Excellent! You see it too huh? Voice of a prophet on a hill over a city. Love the allusions to the Book of Job scattered throughtout. My fav of yours now, Doug. peace and continued inspiration ... richard

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/3/2012 6:13:45 AM
Your talent shines through in this masterpiece! I am truly astounded. Blessings, Christine

(26)Travailing Ever Through Danger (Poetry) - 2/2/2012 10:04:56 PM
Two minute warning in every sentence. The Ring of Fire is there for a purpose and man has gotten too close to see it Douglas, you always amaze me. Love and peace! Susan

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 1/17/2012 4:30:06 PM
You're one of my very favorite poets and NEVER...NEVER stop creating. Namaste Susan

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 1/15/2012 7:35:54 PM
Facets of poem writing, and this poem shows them in a dynamic way,which I like. Poetry is multifaceted and always has something new to offer us at the right time. Axilea

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 1/11/2012 7:38:47 AM
I am so thrilled to have discovered your Den.. I see I have much reading to do here.. Thank you for being you and gifting us with your wisdom, love and pure talent. Blessings Vesna :)

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/8/2011 6:10:26 PM
A diverse, dissimulative and sometimes detached lot... Poets are odd creatures. :) Janna

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/7/2011 11:46:01 AM
Poetry is so comforting as an outlet as life moves and changes ~ Your style is jazzy! Blessings, Chris

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/7/2011 4:58:41 AM
People will always have their opinion, yet we must write for ourselves first. Good poem.

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/6/2011 7:57:31 AM
I agree, Doug, it is easy to hide ones feelings from others. And, considering the great gap that divides people on the internet, where everything shared is two-dimensional, I believe that it's wise to remain (in certain instances) detached. Now ... the idea that financial success burgeons after an artist has passed is not entirely inclusive, (IMO) although there are many examples that can be cited to support the notion. As I said before, I believe your insights are beginning to sprout in unique ways. Keep up the honest moving work. Peace and continued inspiration ... richard

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/6/2011 6:44:42 AM
...it is good to paint forward, sometimes we never know to whom or when, but words drawn is an art perceived differently by each viewer, that is the beauty Doug~

(19)Poets (Poetry) - 12/5/2011 4:39:08 PM
Why?

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 11/27/2011 1:19:49 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HEAVENLY BEAUTIFUL WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 6/16/2011 9:41:55 PM
WHAT A BLESSING TO BE AWARE THAT OUR 'JOURNEY' IS BUT A 'LINK' IN THE CHAIN OF LIFE...THUS, WE ARE HELPED AS WE HELP OTHERS...AND IT COULD HAPPEN...AT ANYTIME. A STRONG WORK, WITH A POWERFUL INSPIRING MESSAGE. WELL DONE AND THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 6/6/2011 11:58:02 AM
SOUNDS LIKE YOU'RE REAL GLAD THAT IT EXPIRED, 'CAUSE NOW YOU GET TO GO TO SANTA FE, NOT THAT YOU NEEDED A REASON...YOU GO ANY TIME YOU DARN WELL PLEASE BUT,...IT SURE FEELS GOOD TO BE GOING TO SANTA FE...ON TOMORROW. YOU GOT LOTS OF LOVE FOR THIS PLACE AND YOU EXPRESS IT REAL WELL IN THIS WORK...ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 4:57:19 PM
Transcendent, artfully expressed, and wonderfully lyrical! Blessings, Christine

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 7:00:04 AM
Woww..Excellent writing sweet man...Hugsss

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 6:52:20 AM
Diligence and artistic foresight are in short supply in this fast crumbling society. You have them both in oodles old friend. Persevere in all faith ... richard

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 5:28:59 AM
I think you just did it!

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 3:05:55 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 7:56:53 PM
The power of the mind and the pen as it comes together and creates a masterpiece... Be always safe, Karen

(17)The Long and Short of It (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 6:44:41 PM
Nice and meaningful. Thanks.

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 5/11/2011 6:00:59 AM
Doug, How true..My 4 children grew in a flash...I am blessed with my 2 Grandgirls, they are truly my breath..and only God knows right now if I will have more :) Christine

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 1/31/2011 6:13:05 PM
What a very thrilling write. Left me with chills! BDB

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 1/24/2011 11:54:00 AM
Just another day living on the beach Well written with vivid pictures And a touch of mystery. SMILES BDB

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 1/21/2011 5:51:10 PM
Nicely done Well written Smiles BDB

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 1/10/2011 6:04:50 PM
You have shared the attributes of the place effectively via your verses here, Douglas. Thank you. Love and blessings, Regis

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 1/10/2011 6:49:25 AM
Very well done sweet man..sure is great to read you again hope you are doning well..sorry I haven't been commenting due to some family matters etc. but I did post a poem ...Hugssss

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 1/9/2011 6:15:45 PM
Doug...every line reaped with and jumped into another adventure. A beautiful vision delivered in this write...

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 12/8/2010 4:35:35 PM
It is so very true!!!! This is a good poem, Douglas.

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 4:17:18 PM
Emotions run rampid as I soak in this story told, great viusals..and the soul bares so much..great work Doug~ Christine

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/15/2010 9:55:58 AM
Douglas this is outstanding! Thank you for sharing! Love, Eileen

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 11:00:25 AM
And the battle is raging worse than ever! (IMO) Just a pleasure to read Doug. Your perceptions and analogies and research have birthed a muscular poem with abundant wisdom. Amen and amen! One of your very best! Blessings richard

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 9:13:28 AM
This is incredibly complex and you make it accessible ~ philosophical and eloquent. Blessings, Christine

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 8:12:17 AM
I think I just read an epic retelling of history...well done! Cheers, Dan

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 3:52:12 AM
Douglas, You said this so eloquently and story like. We are on the same wavelength these days. Read my Eleven:Eleven poem I posted last night, it is just the same but told more simply..a battle for the soul indeed. We must know that times are changing and there is going to be even more battles to be won. Nice work, Much peace, love and light, Amber

(09)The Battle for the Soul (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 2:20:43 AM
the earthly battles and consequences of man for all time offer us great insight as do your offering here imside "The Battle of the Soul" I too Douglas really like those quotes. Chiseled Stones & Remembrances Vickie

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 10/11/2010 7:55:18 AM
Nicely written Doug - different for you. These free-flowing thoughts work well in their entirety. Peace to you ... richard

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 10/10/2010 11:29:52 AM
A rare rambling poem,with beautiful images,and interesting dialogue. Excellent, Douglas! Love, Eileen

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 10/9/2010 10:17:40 AM
this is offering is wonderful Douglas and for me I think this could even be a great country song the rhythm and rhyme flows perfectly gravel roads & arrowheads Vickie

(11)Enchanted Land (Poetry) - 10/9/2010 7:36:23 AM
Fine poetic and musical artistry Doug ~ brimming with memories and sweet words. Great ending~ Be well, Christine

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 10/7/2010 7:22:19 AM
Lovely writing sweet man..sure have missed reading you..hope things are well with you..stay safe and well...Hugsss

(10)Tail Gate (Poetry) - 9/27/2010 6:52:05 AM
ah, what a community gift, would love to hear it~

(10)Tail Gate (Poetry) - 9/19/2010 4:58:27 AM
What a charming song ~ This is faithful, cheerful, and so peaceful Doug! Blessings, Christine

(10)Tail Gate (Poetry) - 9/18/2010 5:34:59 PM
Thank you for sharing this spiritually uplifting song which stands as a testimonial of your faith, Douglas. Love and blessings, Regis

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/9/2010 5:05:51 AM
Stunning work, a blessing all writers would covet.

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/8/2010 9:10:16 AM
Very touching and well-written Douglas. Out of the disembogue of your heart flows the substance of what is there. Peace and continued imagination ... richard

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/8/2010 7:29:33 AM
keep the tongue on fire ...

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/7/2010 6:56:00 AM
i'm speechless!....this is wonderul...coouldn't even begin to pick a favorite part...was all astoundingly beautiful...and to think i almost scrolled by

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/7/2010 6:18:05 AM
Doug, A powerful write that speaks to every poet's heart and soul. Mary

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/7/2010 6:02:28 AM
"May your tongue be a flame To a chosen people That would ignite the universe" love this line..your poem speaks gentle and giving!

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 6:55:54 PM
This is exquisite ~ Powerful in its quiet way of speaking of the strength of a poet's human heart. Blessings, Christine

(20)My Review To You (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 6:00:09 PM
Where peace and love Honestly do have a chance To thrive Lovely sentiments, Douglas. Thank you. Love and peace to you, friend, Regis

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 11:36:54 AM
I can relate to this and it reminds me of a poem I posted here a short while ago entitled, "Sometimes." Nicely done, Douglas. Love and peace to you, Regis

(12)Dragonfly (Poetry) - 7/29/2010 5:13:55 PM
Cleverly written and your intention are wonderful, Douglas. Love and peace to you, Regis

(12)Dragonfly (Poetry) - 7/25/2010 12:05:11 PM
well done

(12)Dragonfly (Poetry) - 7/24/2010 2:02:47 PM
A fun clever write Doug~

(12)Dragonfly (Poetry) - 7/24/2010 5:17:19 AM
This is precious, full of wit and generosity of spirit! A bit of sadness woven in, skillful expression ~ Blessings, Christine

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/18/2010 5:29:18 AM
Very well done indeed...Hugss

(16)Heart Keeper (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 6:35:24 PM
Yes, but a day to remind one that we need to celebrate 'life' what a beautiful gift for her Doug~

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 5:44:44 PM
I love this!!! Felt like I was a guest watching you two..LOL..sooo funny~

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 10:12:10 AM
Interesting "tea party crash". I crashed one party in my lifetime and it was such a horror story I never crashed another. I still cringe when I think of that party.

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 9:58:03 AM
A great collaboration, and I'd really like to see another one quite soon. You can both come to my 'tea, etc' party any time you want. Cheers, Dan

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 4:27:54 AM
Thanks for leading, Doug, I had fun learning to rhyme! And as for anyone else, you have a timely warning here suggesting you invite Doug and I to your tea parties! Blessings, Christine

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 4:27:36 AM
Sounds like you two had fun crashing this party!! Wait till the Halloween ball this year, I am going to wear my protective armor for that one. I loved this collaboration!!! Nicely done. Much peace, love and light, Amber

(15)Crashing Your Tea Party (A Collab of Christine Tsen & Doug Bentley) (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 2:44:29 AM
Look Out Alice & Mad Hatter!! Dorthy & Those Cyclonic Winds Too!!! Beauty & Her Beast's Cursed Castle Guest A New Tantrum Temper Arrives & Releases!! A Totally Movin & Groovin Piece Of Fun To Read Expressions You Two!! Well Done!! Time For Fun With Frosted Cake & Spraying Whip Cream Vickie

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 9:33:19 PM
A most moving and meaningful account, Douglas; very compelling. Love and peace to you, Regis

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/13/2010 6:25:38 PM
Hi Doug, the feeling of being uncertain about someone is a bit scary. I'm no stranger to that, been there a couple of times. Great write, enjoyed. Peace and love in Christ. Hugs, Sheri

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/9/2010 11:18:32 AM
Doug, I love this, it bounces off the heart, great imagery~

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/9/2010 6:31:52 AM
How very lovely, Douglas! Enchanting write... Anna

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 9:03:49 AM
I think I know her, Douglas. Well done! Love and peace to you, Regis

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 10:14:14 PM
poignant read

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 10:04:12 PM
Wow, could get a real sense of the anguish and uncertainty you felt, great piece... Be always safe, Karen

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 5:38:26 PM
Doug, a wonderful piece of writing...well done. Cheers, Dan

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 9:28:47 AM
I love this poem! Such hidden vantage points you offer from which to spy! Christine

(21)Crescendo (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 9:27:05 AM
Beautiful! I know her! Peace, Dayvid

(06)State of Being [Prepared] (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 2:24:26 PM
The motion in this poem is sensational! It is carried on the small bright wings you write of. Blessings, Christine

(06)State of Being [Prepared] (Poetry) - 5/28/2010 7:06:14 AM
Doug, This is unique and spins many a tale of your being...nice work~

(06)State of Being [Prepared] (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 7:53:39 PM
I love the creativeness of this poem, D Johnson is right, the creative spark has hit the den, and I am so glad that I challenged everyone! It was the intended result that I was looking for, to wake up this den and get everyone fired up...We all needed this!!!! Much peace, love, and light, Amber

(06)State of Being [Prepared] (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 4:54:23 PM
Douglas, in the state of being has certainly brought out the creative spark in many poets, including yours. Cheers, Dan

(05)One More Morning (Poetry) - 5/25/2010 7:37:28 PM
....ah, wisdom from the wise..if we just stop and listen..great poem Doug~

(05)One More Morning (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 5:38:30 PM
Real life kind of stuff here, absolutely well done! Cheers, Dan

(05)One More Morning (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 12:35:42 PM
Seems to me the "old man" is full of good adice.... Be always safe, Karen

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 3/20/2010 9:14:21 PM
I DO love the fuzziness I feel when your words tweek my nourishing instincts. Southerners know the depth of love is fathomless...especially that of parents and child. Love... your redneck southern lady! Susan

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 3/19/2010 7:50:14 AM
Douglas, a beautiful write so true...Before we realize it...they are gone in the blink of an eye...to someday experience exactly as the heart does who wrote this poem...the beautiful memories we come to miss so much.

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 3/18/2010 2:14:10 AM
Beautiful...and every word so true.. Hugs, Diana..

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 3/17/2010 8:22:33 PM
Dear Douglas, no wonder this piece have thousands and thousands of hits. Every line makes me feel like i'm in the middle of the battle where brave men and women fight with selflessness and integrity. I'm glad I stumbled on this captivating piece. Peace and love in Christ. Sheri

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 3/15/2010 2:23:53 AM
Very well done, Douglas

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 9/10/2009 2:11:49 AM
Excellent poem,take care EDWIN

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 9:43:06 AM
Love and respect and honoring another will cause this and more to bubble up from the wellsprings of anyone. You are a bonafide romantic friend. Blessings ...

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/28/2009 3:54:15 AM
THINKING ABOUT HOW 'HOLDING HANDS' CAN DRAW TWO HEARTS TOGETHER...FORMING A MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIP. VERY NICE WRITE - ENJOYED. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 5:16:30 AM
I loved the ending...eternally! Love is grand! Your poem is Love! "...and there ain't none of this I want to miss!" Me neither! :) Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 2:34:48 AM
this is a good poem and perhaps even the opening lines for a story-I was born and raised in Nova Scotia so the salt water blues( the ocean) seems to stay with Maritimers no matter where end up living-well done

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 2:31:07 AM
very good poem Douglas-I saw Amber's comment and LOL she is right she doesn't do anything sweetly as her being Italian she does have that fiery personality :-)

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/26/2009 10:45:14 PM
Wonderful finale to this romantic song,sung for your love;-)

(01)Holding Hands (Poetry) - 8/26/2009 9:39:08 AM
Sweetly romantic, I guess I have that fiery personality, I don't do anything sweetly...lol Nice poetry Douglas, thanks for reviewing my A Lady in Red.. Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 8/7/2009 7:10:52 PM
A very dynamic post Douglas Complete with the united nobility of principled integrities closing with the adherence of dignity Peace & Blessings Vickie

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 7/16/2009 7:29:24 PM
INTEGRITY - STANDING UP FOR WHAT ONE BELIEVES IN DESPITE THE COST...IT IS GOD GIVEN AND THE INSTANCES REQUIRING UP TO 'STAND' WILL GO ON UNTIL WE ARE SAFE IN HIS ARMS. BLESSINGS. THANKS FOR THE SHARE. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 6/27/2009 6:07:36 PM
Wonderful use of prose within this piece ... she is vivid and alive with mystery ... an enjoyable read ~ Elizabeth

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 6/12/2009 5:16:06 AM
Beautiful...that last stanza is perfect. Cryssa

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 3/31/2009 7:16:11 AM
"Out of nowhere a diamond appears" I love those moments...when the words flow and they come so quickly that you have no time to think about them, but only enough time to write...trying to capture the thoughts whizzing through your mind and almost your hands as well...as they flow out the fingertips to the computer or as ink in the pen... Cryssa

(08)Don't Bug Me (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 9:16:26 AM
interesting write. I also read your exert from your book. Good luck. I think you've got a winner.

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 9:53:19 AM
This is a beautiful, heartful tribute. Angels waited for Breanne, and all of her suffering was carried away on the angels wings. The painting is beautiful as it creates a feeling of serenity and peacefulness, or she may have truly painted her vision of heaven. I think you express your emotions well, and you are a talented writer. I will add you to my "tracker list" because I want to read more of your writing!

(08)Don't Bug Me (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 9:01:13 AM
I did read and review your book listing. So now I believe I have read most all of your writes on the den. Keep them coming in your spare time and let us be encouraged by your writes. The children who read this book should get a very good insight into theirselves by reading it. Thanks a lot, my friend.,

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 8:59:06 AM
All of your poems I read so far have a good message to give to all. To me anyway it seems that way. You are a tender caring person. I don't want to miss out of anything you write here. I am getting addicted to your writing, it seems to be that way to me. You are a good poet, if you don't know it, then think hard and reread your poetry and see that it is very convincing for all who read.

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 8:55:39 AM
9 grandchildren I have, and one great grandchild on the way. I have been waiting for this 3 years now, but it does seem a long while, it is only a dream away. I am to be greatgrandma in April or end March and now will be like my friends.

(02)Integrity (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 8:53:43 AM
Fighting well even til the end. That is what good soldiers are for and what they do. I enjoyed this going into the battle poem.

(04)Aposiopesis [Sudden Silence] (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 8:47:05 AM
Lovely picture surely did catch my eye. This poem reads so tenderly and speeds along while reading and says lots. I did not know if i wanted to read it due to the title? I had not heard that word before but curiosity killed the cat, me and it is a discernable write with a good message for all. Supreme in fact, I loved it**********

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 8/26/2008 3:44:07 PM
How can salt water blues come when you are near the ocean. I guess they can if you cannot find her among the waves and don't know when you will see her again.

(03)A Blue Sky (Poetry) - 8/26/2008 3:40:41 PM
Gret tribute to a person you thought a lot of. Don't mind reading older tributes, don't want to miss anything on the den. Good for you posting this.

(04)Aposiopesis [Sudden Silence] (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 10:43:20 PM
...fine writing to saddle the soul...you take us with your poetry...across plains we travel...upon words like sunsets...we must also ride...following in friendship...again to meet...upon the wonderful pages you have given us. with respect for your found pen friendship...and wishes for your return... my best wishes with you always Douglas... John

(04)Aposiopesis [Sudden Silence] (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 7:17:00 PM
Douglas it is we who must thank you for your splendid poetry which we have had the pleasure to read and be toudched by! I know you will return for you have many things yet to say,and I'm sure you will regain the ability to do so. You are in my thoughts and prayers, and i hope and pray to see more poems in the future. This one is superb,even though it is also a tale of woe,it uplifts the spirit.May the "next part of the ride" surprise you with joy, and return you to us soon! Love and blessings to you ,my friend, Eileen

(04)Aposiopesis [Sudden Silence] (Poetry) - 7/16/2008 9:35:41 PM
Blazing the trail, riding off into the sunset with a smile of a life well lived, yet there is still so much living to do, wonderful sentiments... Be always safe, Karen

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 12:06:57 PM
Great little story ! Amira

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/4/2008 8:44:46 PM
God, this is well-written. Like a master class in poetry-I love the short lines, that it comes full circle, the descriptions that are so familiar, and the story you tell. This is a keeper.

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/3/2008 6:58:06 PM
...the pleasures we surround ourselves with...just enough for us...in wondering what may surround another...may still be...just that...enough for us. ...very well penned thoughts...these sands of time...you give us Douglas. John

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/3/2008 9:08:52 AM
Satisfying, and yet unrequited. You and me are in the same fields of lovely visions of late Douglas. Superbly felt and articulated. Richard

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/2/2008 4:34:23 PM
Well said tale and could see you sitting there watching adoringly over breakfast on the beach..... Be always safe, Karen

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/2/2008 12:07:46 PM
Any beach is wonderful place to live and die...:) ed

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/2/2008 11:32:12 AM
A magical poem to read Douglas! Love it all;-) Funny I just posted dreams of summer;-)...ET

(07)Salt Water Blues (Poetry) - 4/2/2008 2:46:59 AM
Your poem is wonderful: imagery, narration, etc. I can visualize the speaker as he watches his secret crush play in the water. Thanks for sharing!

(08)Don't Bug Me (Poetry) - 3/10/2008 7:33:15 PM
It's so lovely when children's books are well written, which isn't always the case. I think that it is important that children love reading not just for the story, but for the love of language and literature. I have enjoyed reading this! Axilea

(08)Don't Bug Me (Poetry) - 2/28/2008 8:39:27 AM
So froggy cute! I'm sure many a child would be mezmorized by your determined frog! Loved it! Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

(13)A Child of Love (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 9:04:41 AM
As a mother, I know how this feels. There are many wonderful things that I miss, but then, instead of missing them, I feel lucky for all the memories. And I look at her, growing stronger, becoming more independent, radiant and I'm proud of her, proud of us. Well... grandchildren... that I don't know yet! Lovely little strophe: "Every birth A gift A miracle." Axilea

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 10/15/2007 10:13:09 AM
Thank God for the occasional diamond that appears and changes the souls and minds of what it touches for the better. There is a beautiful sentiment in this dear friend - one that touched me deeply. Blessings to you ... Richard

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 10/1/2007 7:51:52 PM
and a fine thank you it is....well done my friend.

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 9/28/2007 1:17:02 PM
Doug, time and tide waits for no man and some can be carried on a riptide perhaps but those that have real affinity know that 'Anytime' the muse can strike and will lead them always back into the flow...great to read this, loved it. Panda :)

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 9/28/2007 7:54:23 AM
Wonderful writing dear man,enjoyed...Hugss

(14)Anytime. . . . . (Poetry) - 9/27/2007 10:54:51 PM
Wonderful and very insightful with chosen words of dimension and truth, nice heartwarming piece.... Be safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.