AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Sandy Lender, iEugene Meyer, iKim Lambert, iElizabeth Weeks-Rowe, iKH LeMoyne, iRussell Williams, iSteven Ulmen, i
 
Home > Odin Roark
 

Recent Reviews for Odin Roark


3 WAY MIRROR (Book) - 12/14/2013 7:31:04 PM
I will be getting it.

Perceptions (Book) - 12/4/2012 4:10:02 PM
Big Congratulations on this, Odin Roark! ~~ Diana Legun

ECHOSIS (Book) - 12/4/2012 11:51:32 AM
Quite a rant - nice symbolism at the end, wild geese in Spring ... hopeful ...

ECHOSIS (Book) - 12/3/2012 4:03:26 PM
Heavy stuff. It interests me, but its length is a challenge to this engineering reader of short stories. I was already editing the excerpt. May check back later on this creative piece. Ron

Prosetry at Work (Book) - 6/10/2012 9:04:54 AM
Congrats on your book. I don't have a poetry book and probably won't unless there's some demand, somewhere. Ron

3 WAY MIRROR (Book) - 4/15/2012 3:17:22 PM
Glad I didn't read your excerpt here before I commented on your "Darkness Three," because some answers are in this excerpt. Now I want to know the whole story. Belonging to AuthorsDen might be a boost for Amazon and the creative someones who tread this website; I may need to boost my employment! ~~ Diana

Bubble Choices (Short Story) - 5/26/2015 6:15:50 AM
A piquant, naturalistic, unadorned, flow of thought and imagery. Again your cinematic skills find substance in your words. Would make a great movie short. Enjoyed this peek at the perplexities and idiosyncrasies of one characters mind and circumstance. Well done.

Bubble Choices (Short Story) - 5/22/2015 5:17:51 AM
Very good, gets to the heart of the matter. I remember times, like in the Mission District of San Francisco that I understand is high rent today, when I was panhandled as much as four times while trying to walk one city block. If I'd given something to one, I would have been mobbed by many others. But today's street people have stories and, if one has time to learn them, it's more possible to understand. It is interesting that studies have shown that the poor give more freely than the rich. The bubble that I have is held together by the three people that get me out of bed in the morning. I've been thinking about the main one, so tired last night that I couldn't wake her up for 15 minutes and feared that she might have died in her sleep. If I lost her, my protective bubble would certainly burst wide open. Ron

Surreal Dummy--Still Here (Short Story) - 3/24/2015 5:48:40 AM
I seem to have read something like this before. But it's a real charmer and great personification. And ironic about the fly on the wall watching the flies on his window. I guess his retirement will be shortened when Walmart moves into the outskirts of town and the store closes. If he is lucky he'll rest in peace in an attic, warehouse, or old barn until found by an aspiring designer to help create the latest faux Paris fashion. If not, he will be unceremoniously. In a landfill or used for target practice at the town dump Ron

IT (Short Story) - 1/27/2015 2:30:54 PM
I can see how some may extrapolate various meanings from this, but I see only one. I had several family members succumb to, and then die from, cancer. The ramifications were devastating emotionally. Can't find any words other than these, Odin. This piece is like an arrow to the heart. Message received. r

IT (Short Story) - 1/27/2015 7:57:14 AM
I have to assume, and it's a big assumption, that you mean Internet Technology. But then the last two lines, threw me, because I was thinking all the challenges I find that seniors are having with trying to interact on the computer with the Internet. So it's a tossup, except for facing growing older and reminiscing about how things seem clearer in our youth, I didn't get the point of your story. ;-) Ron

Faux Companion (Short Story) - 1/20/2015 6:46:21 AM
When in the big city, its wilderness presents just a few creatures to commune with. So one has to make do with what's available. And, as for companionship, talking to oneself will do. I believe this often happens to prisoners in solitary confinement and was one of the main themes in Castaway. I'm also reminded of Michael Jackson's, Ben. The word "manqué" is foreign to me. It does appear to be French and Richard, with his extensive vocabulary, of course, knew the meaning. I like his explanation of the difference between "would-be" and "wannabe". The loneliness and poverty of being penniless in the expensive city is obvious. I'm not fond of the term, "flash fiction," because it reminds me of our need for "instant gratification" these days, where everything is speeded up in the no time for contemplation. I think of your story as a short, but complete and thoughtful, short story. Enjoyed for its angst. Ron

Faux Companion (Short Story) - 1/19/2015 1:18:39 PM
Hahahaha.... funny stuff, Odin. Dry and droll. I'm sure you chuckled some writing this. "manqué" eh? I'm sure many have dealt with that frustrated hollow-feeling. Especially novelists. Well... thankfully there's some distance between a 'would-be' and a 'wannabe'. At least for a 'would-be' there's still a possibility. For a 'wannabe' there's only the ongoing prospect of bubble bubble toil and struggle. (-: Peace...

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 11/4/2014 12:53:40 PM
A most delightfully pleasant read ... And ever so full of truth ...

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 11:01:40 PM
Imaginary writes are sometimes the best to read here on the den.

Closed (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:59:48 PM
This says a lot I can relate too, reads easily, says lots, Loved it. When one door closes for me, it seems another opens though, that's life and truly I am blessed.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:58:14 PM
I see a flash of victory in this one.

The Nap (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:56:55 PM
Nap time renews, and I hope this old man finds a life and a love, even though he's not in his youth. Aloneness isn't happiness either.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:45:08 PM
well done

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 9/9/2014 1:57:45 PM
I'm glad I discovered this piece. Can't figure how I missed it. IMO would make a great Norman Rockwell painting(s). I love the 'flash fiction' form. Great work here. Really enjoyed it.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 8/20/2014 6:35:59 AM
It sure isn't. I really like the poignancy of this piece. How cast off junk can be someone else's treasure and trigger memories leading to profound wisdom. Warriors see the world travel experience far different from tourists. You have a fine sense of perception in this little story that touches my memory as well. Must put that unused battery charger out on the street for local scavengers to pick up before the next Heavy Trash Day. Or was that, Recycle Day? Ron

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 8/19/2014 4:57:25 PM
Flash fiction is the best! Particularly when you don't have the luxury of sitting and reading for a Long time and you made my day ( moment) with this one. It's wonderful and the title fits! I can see the dangling basket perfectly. Thanks for the break!!!!!!

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 7:06:01 AM
Yes, trying to find sanity in the confines the city. I can't believe that cockroaches can be friends. It's a lonely existence. I see what you mean about prosetry. A bit like stream of consciousness. I use a little bit of it, but I'm not sure whether I would make a novel that way. A couple of asides. While I never drank beer, one time my cousin and I were at the races at Road America when we happened on a fellow walking back to the pits after spinning out and losing his sports car in the mud. He complained about all the money it took to race. He was Augie Pabst, a fourth-generation member of the brewing family. My twin brother made a good living as an industrial engineer, but was often let go in downsizing or fired because the innovations he suggested were not liked by management. Anyway, between jobs, he took up selling silk flowers. Even visited the guy who owned the company and lived quite well in Phoenix. Of course, he made no money and went nowhere with it. Silk flowers don't grow on people. Ron

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 5:05:05 PM
Some would say senility. I would say survival of the fittest. To function absurdly is better than being dead in my book. Dare we anticipate such things? Why not! M.True

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 4:52:44 PM
Where do you go when you're halfway to nowhere? Society seems to to be putting itself though a paper shredder. Too often the guy or gal next to you is from another world, a personal bubble of comfort with no real empathy for anyone but self. The core of a simple one act play perhaps? M.True

Dream-Blisters (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:35:08 AM
good one

When the Wheels Stop Turnin' (flash fiction) (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:34:18 AM
chuckles

Surreal Dummy (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:32:21 AM
holds reader interest

Closed (Short Story) - 4/30/2014 9:07:24 AM
Shades of 'The Last Picture Show.' Ron

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 3/13/2014 6:54:43 AM
Damn intellectuals! I must admit that although I had studied Latin in high school and recall the phrase, I had to look it up and feel a bit ashamed. So, you must have been writing about me because I have a preference for martinis (gin with an olive, no ice) so I must've been the drunk dumb head in the story. On the other hand, I'm a sucker for Jim Beam and not Old Crow, because it's all about the taste with me. Your story is why I never spent much time in bars in idle conversation with other guys with other agendas on their minds. However, it's spot on for the kind of one-upmanship that tends to happen whenever people start drinking and their real agenda appears. Cheers! Ron

Discipline of the artist (Article) - 4/14/2015 7:10:43 AM
Artists (writers, poets, musicians, dancers, painters, photographers - graphic artists - activists?), and other truth tellers always exist on the fringes of society. They will speak their visions even on sidewalks or garrets or gardens or caves. It is the rare one who finds a patron or devoted following, and often gets too much acclaim in a 'choose up sides' culture. Paraphrasing Chris Hedges, "I don't fight Fascists (write) because I will win, I fight them because they are fascists" (I am a writer) ... Thanks for the perspective, and for making your own mean streets so vivid.

Discipline of the artist (Article) - 4/13/2015 6:41:54 AM
Some very wise lessons learned. I have often wondered about pop culture and why so many flock to inane artistry that teaches no lessons and is generally a cheap ripoff of the latest fad. Promotion is the notion. I guess that's why we authors are so encouraged to push our works so they can become "best sellers," whether or not they really are entitled to the accolade, "best." Fortunately, I don't have to rely on my writing for an income. And I don't have to listen to critics like my family who may feel that I write too openly in the face of potential criticism. If only one of my works stands the test of time, I will be pleased. I noted a few typos in the quotation. You might want to check again and correct them. Ron

Discipline of the artist (Article) - 4/12/2015 6:56:00 PM
Thanks for the reminder. It's always best without question for authors to remain true to themselves and to strive toward truth. Likewise authors should write as clearly as possible for both the quick witted and slower witted.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/12/2014 11:59:44 AM
~Odin~ Masquerade is the word for Sochi and making it a world wide ski resort. The poor stray dogs being killed is so sad. Lady Mary Ann

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/11/2014 3:58:51 PM
We are all part of the Essence of All Things Living and Innate. There is a cosmic consciousness! M.True

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/10/2014 4:59:55 PM
I understood what the puzzle was about only after the crow solved it. But I can't eat crow. Guess I'll eat some worms.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 7:19:11 AM
It's a very fine report. We need more reporting like this. I am dismayed with people who say they don't want to get the news. Sure, we are bombarded by it, and we have to choose and know what the source is and the motives are for reporting it, but to hide our heads in sand and not pay attention is worse. No news is good news--right? These folks with their head in the sand are probably only getting hearsay from friends, relatives and neighbors. That's the worst kind of news, spread mouth-to-mouth with the story changing with every repeat. As for the dog issue. I had to kill puppies when I was young because we couldn't have 10 dogs running around our farm house. That was the way we controlled dog populations in those days. Letting dogs run loose and having puppies that everyone loves and then rejects is a serious problem that can only be resolved when brought to the attention for its atrocity. That is what the news is doing. And I applaud that. Ron

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/7/2014 5:42:18 AM
Marvelous - possibly just as amazing is that the bird is so relaxed and confident around humans after only 3 mos. Our raven pair takes a year to let us within a few feet, even though we give them breakfast every morning. Thanks.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 3:55:57 AM
I can't watch animals suffering...But this whole thing is one of the dumbest things I've ever seen. I've never been to Sochi..but from what I've seen on the "news" (and I don't believe much of anything I see on the "news" these days) it looks like a great place to bring kids to for a birthday party...that is...if you really hate kids. i guess Iraq and Afghanistan were already booked and there were no other combat zones available. This may indeed be the very first Olympics where not only will gold medals be awarded ...but may be a few purple hearts too.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 3:44:17 AM
Although I like Keith Olberman, he also seems to miss the point about America’s Purebreed Dog Shows, as he denounces Russia for killing all of these stray dogs. He praises the dog shows, but unfortunately, most of the dog breeders who support and participate in these dog shows care very little about the millions of abandoned mutts and mongrels and purebred dogs that are being euthanized in America’s shelters today. These Dog Shows even dropped Pedigree Dog Food from their official sponsor list because Pedigree supports shelter animals and pet adoptions over spending exorbitant amounts on purchasing purebred dogs from breeders. I think the blame for how we horrendously treat pets today is planet wide. And I sadly don't watch the Olympics or these dog shows anymore.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/6/2014 1:47:05 PM
I don't even have to watch this, Odin, I've already seen enough on AOL. Despicable is the correct word.

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/6/2014 12:05:55 PM
This is absolutely incredible and so good to see! We humans underestimate the other creatures on this planet far too much. How arrogant are we to assume we are superior when we know so little about the true abilities of our fellow earth dwellers. Rx

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/8/2013 7:13:39 AM
Indeed, keeping guns out of the homes and hands of honest citizens saved the lives of many of those people in Rwanda who hacked hundreds of thousands of their neighbors families to death with Machetes.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 2:32:13 PM
visions of gangsters and mercenaries dance like sugar plums in video game dream-scapes. As long as the weak seek revenge in a pocket pistol the bullies and bullets will rule. M.True

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 8:27:59 AM
You are correct: We are a country that is off the charts nuts with how we have acquiesced to the gun industry. 33 residents must die everyday from guns in the hands of nuts as a result. The solution must encompass many areas and will require 100 or more solutions. They include: more intensive police instruction; chip tracking implants in criminals and mental cases; high resolution video cameras in critical locations; psychological and psychiatric interventions; home and school instructions in safe storage of guns and ammo; and about 90 more ideas. Simply passing a law that restricts gun availability to lawful people will not lessen the problem.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 1:40:51 AM
Just wanted to add... In England, if you see ANYONE with a gun outside of a controlled range, there is no grey area and no element of doubt - you KNOW there is a problem.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 2:34:34 PM
You have every right to vent, for you are on the right side of history. The pistol only has one purpose, and that is to be easily carried and used to kill humans at relatively short range. A pistol is not a hunting weapon, and not very useful in warfare. And, as far as warfare goes. When every citizen on every street is armed with military might in the mistaken idea that anarchy is right around the corner… Anarchy is right around the corner. In all the survival stories that I read and hear about, the pistol is only used in fiction. I hope this gets spread around the Internet like some of that John Wayne, Charles Heston "from my cold dead hands" bull crap. Ron

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 1:53:39 PM
Being English, I am in total agreement with the regulation of weapons. We have our share of attacks and episodes, but only a small percentage are fatal. That has to be good. To my mind, if everyone may be carrying a gun, how does one spot the threat? Rx

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 8:07:17 AM
It ends with all of us lower on the moral scale than rats. At least they kill/eat what they kill. Guns don't kill people? Eddie Izzard says "try pointing your finger at someone and yelling, 'bang! bang!' - I don't think that will kill very many" ... Guns do kill people, even those who aren't the target. They kill those who provide for or care for families, neighborhoods and nations. That is their purpose, just as a black obelisk inspired some distant ancestor to grab up a bone and kill those who had 'his waterhole' ... on the other hand, regulating guns is not even possible. They can be made in a garage, assembled via internet printers and even turned into grenade launchers. Taking note of large capacity clips is useless, too - many of us saw the belt-fed demo recently - a guy firing 800 rounds in a minute - how does that get regulated? Given the mental health of the average American and the widespread sufferers of PTSD (not just battle scars) I confess to being afraid of anyone with a gun, including myself. Just another element in the corporate campaign to keep us afraid of everything. Nice job posing a rabid question, Odin.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 4:09:49 AM
The gun lovers will not be confused by the facts, and will actually avoid facts proudly. I am confused by the facts. People want the killing of human beings to be as easy as possible. Mental stability is fragile in humans, from road rage to sports arguments and family feuds- add a gun and you know what you get. Violence is not an exact science- the police fail at an alarming rate and they are well trained, but the madness that holds a gun is not predictable. I believe huge effort should be placed on creating non-leathal weapons to incapacitate unbalanced individuals- no killing the wrong guy- but also no killing people who really need help in this stressful world. No killing period. One must believe death is a solution to wish it on anyone and love the means to cause it. If guns don't kill people neither do hydrogen bombs. Let's have a sale. John

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/4/2013 9:03:07 PM
Saw this quote on a t -shirt "If guns are outlawed, then only outlaws will have guns." So yeah I'm all for moral people being armed. Many things could have been stopped and maybe a lot less deaths. Unfortunately that is the world we live in now. Have a friend, she takes her concealed weapon wherever she goes. She's not taking her kids into any place she can't take her weapon. She's got a license to carry and that's exactly what she does. Guarantee nothing will happen to her kids.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/4/2013 6:26:30 PM
I saw something the other day that addressed this issue. I'm paraphrasing now, "We are told that just because a few radical Muslims are bad we should not blame all Muslims. I wonder why that cannot work for gun owners?" The guns are not the problem, Odin, and regulation of guns will hardly make a dent in the murder rate.

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/26/2013 7:03:25 AM
Youth is fast and furious running from experience to experience without time or money to contemplate what we are doing, learning, or becoming. It is only when we reach a plateau where we have enough money, leisure, and time to think about the past, that we start to think about, “the good old days.” Psychologists tell us that our memories are very selective. One of the reasons we have nightmares is that we are constantly sorting our memories and placing the best ones into long-term memory and often taking the worst ones and burying them so deeply in the subconscious that we only think of them when pressed. I can look back on any part of my life and see the bad, probably because I didn't have any bad experience happen to me I needed to block out, but but saw bad happen to others in my environment and in the media of that era. However, most people seem to have forgotten the bad, or thrown it out, and remember only the good. Life certainly has become more complex with each generation. The most disconcerting thing to me is how far we have become removed from our source of food and water. Any disruption in those supply chains will certainly lead to panic followed by anarchy. With the citizenry fully armed by NRA policy, anarchy will certainly lead to atrocity over basic food and water. I'm not so concerned about information, because the more information we have, including reality shows, blogs, and security surveillance, the better our lives become in spite of the sum of all of our fears. Since we have looked back at Earth from another planetoid, our Moon, it is time we start thinking like benign space travelers, saving our planet and others, not wasting our time reminiscing about a childhood we never really had. Ron

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/26/2013 4:31:10 AM
My 'good old days' had Roy Rogers and Gene Autry matinees for 7 cents and an earlier Wall Street menace. I liked the Once Upon a Time in America era because it seemed to better represent the Thirties and my mother's youth better than the cowpokes. But these new old days have been too fast, too scattered, too alien. Never liked John Wayne or Savalas, but Gunn had a good jazz theme ... see how I'm enjoying the memory lane you put me on? Thanks.

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/25/2013 11:03:50 PM
The maze has been built. The rats are running. Therese are the days of cryptic messages. I say, gardening is good. Grow your own food. If you have enough, sell it to the neighbors.

Shadow Towers of Choice (Poetry) - 7/7/2015 5:00:06 AM
I remember, in the mop-up after TET, how we paraded past a large, silent crowd of Vietnamese, how shocked I was at the hatred I saw in their eyes. We were there to save them, weren't we? Or had we just destroyed those who already had? Which vision, which version do we glimpse from moment to moment. Which language, what nuance ... none will remember. History is patient ... and seldom judgmental.

Shadow Towers of Choice (Poetry) - 7/7/2015 1:41:54 AM
I have been to Hiroshima. I was surprised when a Japanese couple did not show hatred for Americans. I fact, I went to a singing bar and found Japanese people imitating American singers. One Japanese well dressed businessman man smiled at me when I asked him who caused the bombing of Hiroshima. He answered quickly, "It was our Emperor! He lied to us!" In the case of Iran, the people are NOT stupid. I have talked to Iranian people while on vacation. They all say the same thing, "We love Americans and we hate our government for what it is doing." In most countries the people do not have a voice. We can only pray that America remains the same. For it stands as a symbol of Freedom for the oppressed regardless of it's nuclear capability. God help us if our nation turns to tyranny and tells it's people, especially it's Christian population to hush up and follow the new satanic values. Amen

Needing Not the Beyond (Poetry) - 7/6/2015 9:15:52 AM
As I drifted on this nautical journey, I felt a certain ease and understanding of a life no longer on tumultuous waters of youthful exploration but wisdom's calm. Ron

Needing Not the Beyond (Poetry) - 7/6/2015 3:50:07 AM
Three cheers for those unencumbered oarsmen (and women) - and that ever-faithful coming of the sun. A really good one, Odin.

Match-Strike (Poetry) - 7/5/2015 10:35:17 AM
Fear of anarchy abounds. But when compared with the 20th century, where anarchy often flared up and much of the world was self-destructedly on annihilation and subjugation, today's subversive trends are quickly discovered and often very quickly defused. I prefer the Arthur C. Clarke notion that the human race can expand outward into the universe at an exponential rate for eons to come. In the meantime, for the Earth's occupants, each year becomes better in spite of small calamities like tsunamis and meteor strikes that occasionally befall a geologically active planet covered with an intelligent parasite trying to get rich. Ron

Match-Strike (Poetry) - 7/5/2015 12:35:18 AM
This poem nails down the hopes and hunches of our time.

Hands of Choice (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 4:53:08 AM
thought provoking read

Hands of Choice (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 1:35:29 AM
For with these hands all types of weapons are held firm, often snuffing out life by gavel, gun, vote, and deception Humanity's Hands - you would think that we would have found a better use for them by now - truly makes one wonder about our species.

Hands of Choice (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 9:32:06 PM


Hands of Choice (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 8:23:58 PM
tool-making enigmas

Hands of Choice (Poetry) - 7/1/2015 5:21:02 PM
Oh Odin, we are a lost tribe, because as a tribe we have weakened ourselves because we have, through so-called best intentions, introduced all other races, philosophical people, those who suffer and ache for others to suffer with them. My god, man, we are so diversified as to be the kind of people who places our hands over our eyes and farts meaningful compromises to everyone nearby, and that, my friend has weakened this once great land to the point of probably no return.

Self-Worth Surrendered (Poetry) - 6/30/2015 4:39:50 PM
Love this!

Self-Worth Surrendered (Poetry) - 6/30/2015 7:35:51 AM
Too many give in to the misconception that they are worthless. That allows them to behave in ways that are not helpful or productive and sometimes, very destructive. You have touched on all the bases with this work. It is really strange that so many with low self worth end up in leadership positions. i just read where Richard Nixon was one such example, along with Hitler and many others. Ron

Self-Worth Surrendered (Poetry) - 6/30/2015 4:33:15 AM
Sin, according to a source familiar with the meaning of language at the time the King James version was translated, was an archery term meaning 'missed (the bullseye)' - in other words, try again, as all who seek to become better must do. Pulpit bullies added the threats of damnation to temper youth's natural hubris, but also to keep society under their thumbs. Lately, children are lied to regularly by parents seeking to substitute unearned praise for unearned condemnation, a practice just as cruel for the child. We can all do better. That has probably been your motto for a lifetime, and is how you got to be so good at what you do so well. This arrow did not miss, but try again, anyway.

Self-Worth Surrendered (Poetry) - 6/30/2015 4:22:43 AM
Excellent use of imagery.

Self-Worth Surrendered (Poetry) - 6/30/2015 1:33:49 AM
Yes, yes. You're singing my song. If only the powers that be would get in step...

Timeless Kaleidoscope (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 9:40:49 AM
I just had too many cherries for lunch, and have for many days now since they are in season. But, for the life of me, I never got so philosophical over that little bit of tasty fruit as you have, conjuring up the future and the present between the twist of a stem between your fingers. Very cool. I recall briefly while reading Robin Williams in What Dreams Shall Come, exploring that "carnival of joy" that he seemed so relatively willing to go to rather than face the future of this life. I, on the other hand, having eaten my cherries today, look forward to an endless present of thinking forward and acting now until I am in the play no more. There are many more instances of great joy for me in this life and I'm looking forward to every one. A kaleidoscope of opportunity and possibilities. Ron

Timeless Kaleidoscope (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 7:56:53 AM
Super poetic portrait of the eternal questions!

Steam and Smoke Reverie (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 4:04:53 AM
well done

Steam and Smoke Reverie (Poetry) - 6/26/2015 11:41:43 AM
Interesting and nostalgic. As a techie, during part of my studies I was surrounded by steam train lovers. I rode a traction engine the top of a mountain in West Virginia and enjoyed it for an afternoon. I also rode Amtrak from West Virginia to Union Station in DC. There were no amenities, the windows were so greasy dirty that you could barely see out of them, and the worn-out diesels could barely make 5 miles an hour on some of the passes. That was in the 1970s. The ride was probably better in the 1870s. One of my fellow doctoral students was very interested in magnetic levitation trains. They are a fact now in many parts of the world, starting with Japan. Trains in the United States reached their peak speeds in the 1890s with steam. Except for a couple of corridors, we are going no faster today. I have ridden on Houston's light rail in my wheelchair several times without tying down. It's a very pleasant experience, while Spartan. The trip between Houston and Dallas on a Hydro loop train would be far more pleasant than taking the airplane or I 45 today. We must get back to the moon and do the other things "because they are hard." Ron

Steam and Smoke Reverie (Poetry) - 6/25/2015 9:12:57 AM
The subtext is rich and multi-layered in this. Well done! Losing touch with what makes us human, in the pursuit of profit, is certainly a topic most aware, caring, altruistic, or (even) philosophically minded individuals will eventually wrestle with. Contrary to what some believe, technology is not the savior of humankind. Reminds me, too, of one of the best retro-experiences my wife and I have ever had - the 'Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad'. An exhilarating ride that starts in Durango Colorado and takes you all the way up to Silverton Colorado, past wonderful sites, little old ramshackle mining towns, and some pretty hairy drop-offs straight down to the Animas River. Enjoyed your thoughts. Continued inspiration.

Steam and Smoke Reverie (Poetry) - 6/25/2015 8:53:18 AM
Ahhh . . . We are going to super-size ourselves out of any kind of pleasant travels where we can dine with excellent meals, have a few cocktails, and observe the landscape. I guess speed, to get from one point to another, is only to be expected. However in my fantasies I see myself astride a golden palomino, hand rolling a cigarette (no, not loco weed) as the palomino and I ride the ridges and "really" get to see what this once-great country is/was all about. Ah, ya got my mind engaged heah.

Steam and Smoke Reverie (Poetry) - 6/25/2015 8:51:40 AM
Our techno future is scary indeed. The only answer is to stay informed. Consumers make the ultimate choice whether a hot new gadget is healthful for themselves and the environment. Thanks for reminding me there's more to democracy than nodding yes to talking heads.

Living Galleries (Poetry) - 6/23/2015 6:24:54 AM
Yes, we are all creative. But I sense that while some of us are so passionate, yet only about 1/8th full when it comes to expressing that passion with a great tendency to repeat it over and over again, ad nauseam, with the dullness of a butter knife. And then there are those who, with ease, craft masterpieces that are overflowing with every productive minute of their lives. For some it takes many years practice and determination. For others, it seems like a gift. The only danger that you seem worried about is distraction… The chopping up of daily living into multitasking segments of rapidly dashed off communicative bits… Destined to end up in the trash bin of history. Greatness needs time to focus and to develop. Otherwise, society comes apart at the seams. So far, thankfully, that hasn't happened… Yet. Ron

Fatherdom - a Trilogy of Remembrance (Poetry) - 6/21/2015 8:58:13 AM
I really like this trilogy of remembrance. But the one I like most of all is the last, the one of your grandfather so close to the earth. Like my grandfather and his dream of a truck farm that lasted but three years as he worked his arthritic hands to the bone caring for all of his exotic plantings, only to have half of the watermelon stolen just as they were ripe for harvest. Sweet remembrances, yours. Ron

Fatherdom - a Trilogy of Remembrance (Poetry) - 6/21/2015 3:17:16 AM
well done

Fatherdom - a Trilogy of Remembrance (Poetry) - 6/20/2015 6:16:04 PM
A wonderful triple-header tribute to your dad and grandfather Odin! BRAVO!

Fatherdom - a Trilogy of Remembrance (Poetry) - 6/20/2015 4:12:33 PM
Odin, I apologize for not reading this until now. I have tried to stay away from "Father" poems, but I did touch base with a few. Thank you for reading and giving me your take on my poem today. Yes, after reading this so unique and so Odin write, I can only wish I had the kind of upbringing that you had. Mine was not good, I had a close to insane mother in my opinion, and my father just worked and kept us fed. I was never able to "talk" to him, nor did he ever have any "fatherly" meaning to impart to me. Okay, I'm rambling here . . .

No-Cure Privilege (Poetry) - 6/20/2015 11:47:01 AM
I don't know about "no-cure," but I do know about privilege. I recall seeing the word, "Oracle," on a Formula One car in deciding to write Larry Ellison about the fact that my dissertation, entitled Oracle: A Computer-Assisted System for Determining the Educational Philosophy of an Individual, required a relational database to operate and preceded the name of his company. Instead of engaging in conversation with me after my invitation, he sicced to his lawyers on me with a nasty letter. I understand that he has graduated to the America's Cup. Ron

Everywhere's Nowhere (Poetry) - 6/19/2015 6:21:03 AM
Reality is hard to pin down sometimes. We live in a fantasy world. It is amazing how difficult it is for our people to live like we did as little as 150 years ago. Reality shows placing people in pioneering survival conditions show our frailty very well. Everything now is blown out of proportion and no longer in touch with mother Earth. I'm with Obama on this one. I look at it this way. The United States can absorb, and I use the word absorb the way that Obama did when he said that the United States was big enough to absorb another 9/11 without going to war. Tragedies happen all the time. They always have. Atrocities like the one that happened in South Carolina have happened many, many times in the history of the United States. Many of these were never reported and may or may not have markers recording them. History absorbs them and they are forgotten unless brought back in ridiculous melodramas like Texas Rising. It is really unfortunate that the media have to glorify, exaggerate, and twist every incident. But then, if ever you are in a library and have access to newspapers from the 1800s, or even newspapers from the Hearst empire of the early 20th century, you will certainly see a lot of yellow journalism twisting stories and making things up. Nothing is really new under the sun. As usual, a keen eye and superb prose poetry at the cutting-edge. Ron

Reflection Seeking Light (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 6:58:36 AM
Deeply philosophical and revealing. Covers almost everyone. I have often said that we are too stupid to solve our problems intelligently. I always liked the phrase and the story, by Arthur C. Clarke… Childhood's End. The question is, are we grown up enough to get beyond our petty childishness to conquer our fears and move out into the Solar System and beyond? Probably not yet. I watched Donald Trump who inherited his golden egg from his father and can't stop trumpeting it proclaim his childish plans for the presidency in an interview with George Stephanopoulos this morning. It was almost laughable to watch. George would make a much better president, but Trump is too childish to even see his own weaknesses. Ron

Reflection Seeking Light (Poetry) - 6/17/2015 5:17:04 AM
Resounding. This one really strikes home - those of us who live on alluvial fans know well the cascades of scree and molten stone - harken!

Creation's Anonymous Persona (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 8:57:47 AM
It left me wondering what you were really driving at, for the words confused my meager intelligence. What I gather from it is that much of creation is unknown but honored. While some of creation, linked to certain personalities, is overblown in its importance. Ron

Creation's Anonymous Persona (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 2:28:01 AM
A work's persuasiveness is all that matters - and it should, as are all works that are 'timeless.'

Creation's Anonymous Persona (Poetry) - 6/14/2015 6:28:32 PM
The EGO and/or mask (persona)can and often-times does emotionally cripple creativity as well as heart written honesty. Writing to impress rather than to express. Indeed, losing integrity as well as freedom within. Most valid and poignant thoughts.

Reflection Pangs (Poetry) - 6/13/2015 12:04:56 PM
Methinks, though the cupboard was bare, that the feline had a snack with a little protein to spare. So there, time's eldest statesman, take that to supper! I've often wondered about these people who go off and live by themselves. What happens when they get too old to do all the things they do every day just to exist. I guess most of them retreat back to civilization. And probably, more than a few of them actually died from the inability to recover from a minor accident like falling through the ice or even just slipping and breaking their hip. Ron

Lexicon Prison (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 6:36:38 AM
Yes, life is insane in a sort of, weirdly productive way. Fortunately, I've weaned myself of the need for black licorice twisters, although occasionally, I fall back on the fake red flavored kind. ;-) As far as the dawn of this day, after the tirade last night that lasted long and caused me grief and her sleeplessness, that she was able to recover slightly with a nap this morning, I feel helpless to ease her torment, for there is little I can do to channel insanity into productive thinking. Ron

Lexicon Prison (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 2:46:40 AM
A productive kind of insanity - quite profound; quite good.

Patient Whispers (Poetry) - 6/10/2015 4:33:36 AM
A fabulous way of describing the ebb and flow of lives, some adventurous, and some not. Most, perhaps afraid to venture out beyond the comfort of routine, thereby stuck in the rut of faith or fate depending upon their predilection. And for those that do venture out some will achieve enlightenment, and others, failure. Such is the roll of the dice of life. Ron

Patient Whispers (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 10:56:00 AM
"Possibly history’s echo will keep alive reasoning’s patient whispering, hopefully moving fate’s gray clouds aside, allowing destiny’s light to break through, to be absorbed, embraced, and lived" If only . . .

Overcoming Fool's Gold (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 6:10:20 AM
Oh yes, once we relax and stop chasing it, love comes easily to our door. Ron

4 AM Ballet (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 6:27:32 AM
A wonderful story of relief from the drudgery of the graveyard shift in a textile factory. So vivid, it was as though you had experienced it personally to write it so well. I immediately thought of the gritty movie, Flashdance. Ron

4 AM Ballet (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 4:11:38 AM
Creation is marvelous - and when we use it to heal the ills that plague us, it's even better - and it's free.

Brain-Friendly Mind (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 11:20:56 AM
I disagree with Ed. There has been a certain amount of despotic evolution going on since humans developed technology beginning with fire and accelerating with writing so that our scientific knowledge can continue to proliferate and continue to provide prosthesis for inferior genes and allow them to reproduce. Anthropologists are behaviorists and social scientists. We are on the verge of a genetic revolution that will change everything about human behavior. Whether it is bad or good is mute. Like Viagra, anything that will make a person more intelligent will prevail. Whether it is a pill, gene therapy, or selective reproduction makes no difference. Superior intelligence will create better behavior… It always has. It always will. You always conjure up a lot of thinking with your poetry. Ron

Brain-Friendly Mind (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 6:23:01 AM
Anthropologists suggest it takes about 50,000 years to detect any kind of change in humanoids, mental or physical. Unfortunately, that would suggest at least 1 million years down the road before we might see significant changes. Alas, other very bright people such as Carl Sagan argued that we are genetically programmed to self-destruct after 10,000 years of "civilized" living.

Dreamscape Seduction (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 8:28:30 AM
Makes you feel kind of sad for those who don't wake up, those who will never see real life, or experience its values, ever again.

Dreamscape Seduction (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 7:55:43 AM
Yes, it seems that the rules are only the rules for those who do not live thirty-eight floors up or even further. Money. the ability to take huge chunks of money for themselves while, as you mentioned, the everyday people, those who actually do the drudge work making all that possible for the "anointed," a life untold with luxuriousness all the way around. I wonder, Odin, say a member of the everyday people were to get lucky and was able to live up on the thirty-eighth floor, would it change him? Would he reach out to the everyday people he used to call friends and acquaintances or would he smile and congratulate himself on his success and greed, the same greed he abhorred when he was of the everyday people, now consumed him. Humans. We are a strange lot I am convinced.

Wordsmith's Longterm Diet (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 6:13:41 AM
I recall a psychological study about satisfaction. I don't remember the author/psychologist/researcher, but the gist of the study was that a paycheck was not satisfying because it was like lunch. Once one has eaten, it is usually only a few hours later when hunger returns, the eater or paycheck receiver/raise receiver is never really satisfied. So it is with compulsive wordsmithing. You and I are both trapped in the idea that we must write something every day and feel very hungry when we aren't satisfied with copious word output. It is strange, but when I find that I'm really passionately involved in writing a novel or short story, I lose track of time, don't ever seem to be thirsty or hungry, and can generally write on well past any deadline that I would set for myself. In that regard, your poem today is very telling for most of us writers. Ron

Wordsmith's Longterm Diet (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 12:51:05 PM
I love the way the sounds become textures ...and the idea of "junk food language" and "Symbols simmering" are such poignant images for the mind to digest that I can almost taste them.

Tomorrow's Dust (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 4:29:13 AM
Monumental penmanship. Amazing joy blows the dust away as it comes through in creativity ~

Tomorrow's Dust (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 10:04:15 AM
"Ashes to ashes… Dust to dust," comes to mind. We can't hold back the inevitable… The flaking off of everything until all that is left is dust. The good part is, that all you have to do is add water, and then all you have left is dirt for growing. Ron

Tomorrow's Dust (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 8:44:10 AM
"Deniability is not an option." No it isn't, and if we pursue the denial of what is obviously happening to us as we go through the final stage of decay we, at the least are looked upon as fools by those we come into contact with. And fools we most certainly are. I have, and do, accept the fact that I am in the last stages of my own personal decay. I have made peace with this last hooray of my body. I fully believe that I have accepted and understand what you said about "energy’s perpetual motion." It is with me every step of the way and I draw from it and it gives me such positive visions and thoughts of these my last days.

Big Boy's Wading Pool (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 7:55:30 AM
A life passage reflected in a wading pool. I really like how erect members melt ice cream cones. ;-) I find it hard to leave the pond wading behind having never known the plastic type, but I do recall, near 30 cruising the lake all day in a leaking inner tube to be close to that child that is still in me as everything sags and liquid collects in my feet rather than around them. Ron

Big Boy's Wading Pool (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 5:18:06 AM
every big boy’s wading pool eventually reflects back and smiles at daydreams now withered and retired, asking only that we accept today as yesterday’s tomorrow How so very true.

Recess Bell Revisited (Poetry) - 6/1/2015 4:09:41 AM
This conjured up so much in my mind. I believe recesses are now rigidly monitored so that the playground scuffles that I experienced are no longer allowed. I do recall before I quit work when they greatly curtailed breaks and lunch hours and some strange effort to increase productivity in higher education when it was freedom that made higher education so productive in the first place. Even that gold has been devalued at the end of the line. Mine was mere silver or chrome plating on all the trinkets offered for a long career. Ron

Recess Bell Revisited (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 8:20:06 AM
This is good, Odin, and gives the reader motivation to strive for that bottom line. Actually I'm in the process of shaking off all my woes and darkness, striving for the light at the end of the tunnel . . . i.e., happiness! Finely!

Untethered Bliss (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 4:32:03 AM
Untethered Bliss - something I doubt most of us will ever achieve - but we should at least try.

Untethered Bliss (Poetry) - 5/28/2015 1:04:29 PM
This poem has a lot going for it because it speaks to the heart of the matter. When the heat of infatuation wears off there is only love left to carry the day in spite of pitfalls ahead in every life. For life is like a flood, wrecking devastation upon the landscape that only the perseverance of love can withstand. Ron

Untethered Bliss (Poetry) - 5/28/2015 9:11:09 AM
Like the last verse best, says lots about love and blissfully said and blissfully taken.

Light Never Dimming (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 11:30:54 AM
"wisdom's slumped back" is a great metaphor. Thanks.

Light Never Dimming (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 9:48:15 AM
I once asked a group of students on a large campus the way to the main library. Not one knew, or knowing, did not answer. They seem to have been caught up more in boring darkness than in fearless illumination.

The Weigh-In (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 11:25:33 AM
That wasn't my experience, but I'm sure it's the experience of many. No matter how hard we train, we never know how it's going to go, until we get there. Ron

Dixie Cup Memorial (redux) (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 1:54:57 PM
With challenging imagery, you express the torment so well ~ we must comfort wherever we can. Christine xo

Dixie Cup Memorial (redux) (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 1:19:35 PM
A heart moving, extremely visual, poetic-vignette. How often your past cinematic skills bleed onto the pages of your poetic invention. Well done... rlc

Dixie Cup Memorial (redux) (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 9:15:00 AM
Brought a tear to my eye. Great perception of a nagging problem we have. Accepting what we've done when we send young people of the war and then forget them when they come back except on occasions like Memorial Day and Veterans Day. It's a shame. It's interesting that the warmongers in Congress are the ones vehement about cutting the Veterans Administration. Is ex-president's going on outings with chosen few once a year or so going to make life better for all? I don't think that charity is the answer. Ron

Sublime It Is (Poetry) - 5/21/2015 11:25:50 PM
So true! An author is never more fruitful than after she or he has just woken up.

Sublime It Is (Poetry) - 5/21/2015 9:08:02 AM
My poems incubate often from that coming out of sleep experience as well. Sublime: the state of being laid under and covered with lime. A practice often used on the battlefield like in the American Civil War when there were too many bodies in the field and not enough ex-slaves to cart them off to graves and dig them. From Ron's, Diabolical Dictionary. ;-) Ron

Fear and Aging (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 12:17:23 PM
Nice. Could be a game of Russian roulette on the disinformation highway. Have you read "Kill Chain"?

Fear and Aging (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 7:54:21 AM
I've been seeing a lot of those two in these poetry pages lately. Thanks for enlightening us on what is really going on almost unseen. Ron

Fear and Aging (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 7:37:50 AM
Two issues artfully diagnosed and laid out in poetic format for all to see and apprehend. You give new meaning to the wonderment of words.

Playacting Myself (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 6:34:57 AM
The roles are becoming ever more complex. To choose the nose ring or the pinky ring determines corporate's reality through its commercial treadmill. You are right, probably only when the men in white jackets come and get us and put us in a white padded room with a white straitjacket, are we truly free from conformity. But it's probably just a dream, anyway. Ron

Playacting Myself (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 12:08:39 PM
"just dressed in “altogetherness,”" Nice catch with that phrase. Dream on my friend. You do it well. Good or bad; the pendulum swings wide at times for the artistic mind. A piece that would adapt nicely (IMO) to cinema. Hope all is well. rlc

Playacting Myself (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 10:31:49 AM
I really like this, there is such energy flowing! Christine xo

Survivor Hope Chests (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 5:48:43 AM
Without compassion, so many will not make it. While much of that memory is lost, most of this country was populated by refugees. When they first came here, most were not welcomed. It's beyond me why people are so cruel in the name of wealth in the case of despots and dictators, and in the name of religion. It's time we put an end to it so that no one will have to flee oppression, danger and death anymore. Ron

Misstep Paradise (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 2:30:13 AM
We all have such chances, if we only choose to take them.

Misstep Paradise (Poetry) - 5/17/2015 10:15:12 PM
Thanks, for a glimpse at the archaeology of the soul.

Misstep Paradise (Poetry) - 5/17/2015 1:08:39 PM
No one is perfectly wise or too intelligent to fail. While I have garnered some success, if I would have somehow managed to avoid all the humiliating mistakes that I've made along the way, I would be residing on an entirely different plane than I am now. But I accept that because, as your poem so well suggests, most of the best laid plans now our only ghastly memories of very few. Ron

Reality Misbehavin' (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 10:13:53 AM
I like this one… Real gritty. I seem to be reminded of Hunter Thompson while reading it, or maybe, The Twilight Zone. Just a question. Does a Toronado count? I once picked up many a hitcher in that sweet green machine. My rides may have been high, but I never was. Ron

Silent Talkies (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 5:50:50 AM
So true..well done..Hugss

Like No Other (redux) (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 6:35:30 PM
I like the visual effects. The content reminds me of the disconnect between urban infrastructure and the uses we humans make of it. Urban renovation is meant for profits, not the users themselves. Our cities don't have enough people-oriented spaces, not enough parks, too little quality of life.

Game Playing (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 9:57:16 AM
I get this from feeling that "he" is you. There comes a time in many lives when ladder climbing requires playing "roles." Role-playing can get you to the top or it can sideline you if you're not good at quickly changing up your role to meet changing expectations. It's so pleasant and quiet to be free from trying to live up to the roles someone else sets for you. Ron

Game Playing (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 8:30:32 AM
... is he over-50 by any chance?! I lived in fear of my 50th (many years ago now!) but, truth is, I've never been happier in my own skin since this psychological 'coming of age'. Think I've always been happy to 'just be me' but 'just me', as you must know, is rather playful and a delighted wearer or many try-on masks, depending on what takes my fancy. All the world's a stage as what's-his-name once said... Well articulated thoughts adroitly expressed here, Odin. And thank you so much for your on-going appreciation of my work; I'm flattered. xx

Suds Gone Flat (Poetry) - 5/13/2015 9:18:34 AM
Psychologists have determined that we can have only four or five real friends over the course of a lifetime. All the rest are just "acquaintances." Your poem is so telling because it highlights the fallacy with a very good analogy (pollution) for what happens when people, particularly young people, flock to friendship that leads, like you so eloquently have written, downriver to nowhere… Perhaps in a swirling mass of confusion in the middle of the North Pacific, poisoning everything it comes in touch with. That's why I don't consider anyone here, "friends." They are fellow "authors" like you unless they don't have anything worthwhile to write about, and then, they are not even that. Ron

Suds Gone Flat (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 7:56:23 PM
5-13-2015 Geeeezzz You Just Described State (Mexifornia) California.. TRASK...

Suds Gone Flat (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 1:15:05 PM
....take the Best Friends Forever's BFF...leaving the other BFF meaning to your own private home ..."mockery's isolation".......

Suds Gone Flat (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 11:36:29 AM
as the conjoined naïve plunge over the falls, aloneness waiting below in mockery’s isolation. This is such a well-thought out and provoking piece, commenting on the dynamics of what passes for modern relationships. I find it refreshing, Odin, as you have whittled down to the core here, investigating both the needs and drives that fuel our pursuit of so-called popularity or social-inclusion. In the light of all this, your well-crafted final line is chilling. Cool metaphor. xx

Light, the Magician (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 7:03:50 AM
A wonderful attempt at capturing the qualities of light with words. From that great expression, "a picture is worth a thousand words," I often think of light the way that artists do. They are continually looking for "just the right light" to make their photograph or painting perfect in the eyes of the moment. I tried to capture that in my poem about autumn light, like you have with your bit of prosetry. Your look at light sure caught my eye. Ron

Light, the Magician (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:09:19 AM
Another memorable piece to my library - Light still magical after all these billions of years (time meaning still meaningless, of course) - best, Jan

Light, the Magician (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:04:55 AM
So... they chose the name on purpose then: "Industrial Light and Magic;" I knew it! It's a particle/wave conspiracy! I do love your flirtation with imagery -- it is exceedingly en-light-ening; and you have enough light-heartedness to keep us enthralled. The personifications included are quite endearing. Light (or absence of darkness) is, indeed, magic at its most mysterious. I shall 'light' a cancle for this uber-cool scribing you have done. -- Jeff

Leavened Love (Poetry) - 5/10/2015 11:00:10 AM
Deep, meaningful and purposed love, over all-consuming, direction less passion. The former is respected and rewarded, long-term; the latter is often lauded and is difficult to resist. I like to believe that a balance can be struck between the two. Thoughtful write. -- Jeff

Leavened Love (Poetry) - 5/10/2015 10:56:57 AM
I can smell the loaf baking in the oven. What a wonderful extended metaphor! Common armies march on their stomachs, the scariest and most determined army (Julius Caesar's legions) marched on whole wheat and chickpeas.

Leavened Love (Poetry) - 5/10/2015 9:17:14 AM
The feast of love awaits. All we have to do is drop our fears, our defenses, and lift our minds to understanding. What a wonderful world that would be. Like John Lennon sang, "Imagine." Ron

Our Secret (Poetry) - 5/9/2015 12:19:13 PM
A good dose goes a long way. Sobering, indeed. -- Jeff

Our Secret (Poetry) - 5/9/2015 9:48:53 AM
A reality check, that's for sure. That no man is coming for all of us. It's only a matter of time. Ron

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 11:38:20 AM
~Odin~ Excellent write. I've not ridden on a city bus. I am experiencing thoughts and experiences through your poetry of city life. Thank you for a view. Lady Mary Ann

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 4:17:24 AM
Having ridden public transportation, this resounds deeply with me. This especially potent line: "Shivering in the rain, a girl cradles her swaddled trouble beside the boy answerable cupping his hands over dampened match beneath her cigarette. " - This is SO incredibly vivid! Also, you have a wonderfully contemplative juxtaposition of "today's escapees." It makes us ponder all the more, because the 'escapees' are on both sides of the door - in the bus, 'escaping' the doors as they exit onto the mean streets of grey banality; and at the bus stop, waiting to escape into the safety of the bus, if only briefly, to be released into the wild again... at some unknown stop, ahead, in the future, that may hold some promise of permanent parole. But... even better than making us "think," you, Odin, make us "feel" the viscerally-littered landscape of your poetry's canvas! Exceedingly well done!

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/6/2015 10:42:21 AM
I was sold on the "wrinkled weariness weeps" and then it gets better.

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/6/2015 9:16:19 AM
Once again you have revealed your secret: simplicity + elegance = beauty

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/6/2015 8:10:25 AM
The dreary routine of bus riders in all kinds of weather very well described. When I take the bus, I always hope for a warm, sunny day. Ron

Bus Stop Escapees (Poetry) - 5/6/2015 7:45:00 AM
I can hear the swish-swash of the wipers and the tyres aqua-planning their musical accompaniment to your very visual depiction, Odin. The final 9 lines could stand alone as their narrative is so vivid. From city to city the same. Excellent work as always. Kate xx

Time (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 8:52:58 PM
well put! time as a meaning of life's inescapable decay.

Mornings After (Poetry) - 5/3/2015 1:46:06 PM
well said. thanks.

Mornings After (Poetry) - 5/3/2015 8:57:59 AM
The morning after a great earthquake always brings fear of more. Some lives will never be the same, although the birds, perhaps losing the nest of young, will survive better than those in man-made coffins thought to protect from the elements. A reminder of how fragile life is in the geological lifespan of earth. Ron

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 5/1/2015 10:26:48 PM
Nirvana? The ultimate state... Diana...

Etchings Ethereal (Poetry) - 4/30/2015 11:10:16 AM
Tackling how the brain works is an exercise most daunting. Your venture into this realm is as ethereal as any other. Ron

Etchings Ethereal (Poetry) - 4/29/2015 3:28:31 PM
Insider's view of an evolving thought... cool.

Etchings Ethereal (Poetry) - 4/29/2015 12:10:18 PM
Well Hello Odin!! I have been receiving your notices for some months now? Though I often can not keep up with your steady flow! :-o So I save them in a file to read later?? Well I paused to read this one & I'm Glad! :-) Your analysis is quite Right On! The Mysteries of the Mind are boundless... As you put it - "this conundrum of conundrums?" And your phrasing is grand - - "Urging currents engrave messages ashore, freeing yesterday’s impressions to become tomorrow’s ebb and tide perceptions" OR "knowing life’s unbound consciousness exists only to empower infinity’s mantle with more etchings ethereal" As I hear it - Science can not figure out//account for Dreams? The Lord's Miracle still confounds them! :-) MDK - - - - - - Romans 11:29

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 8:37:44 AM
Odin, You always make me think, and see the world in a new way. Though I don't feel the nothingness now, I have been there when nothing was enough and life seemed as black as tar. Well written.

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 8:03:46 AM
This one is profoundly interesting. It begs an epiphany of thought that I've never experienced and probably never will. Somehow it reminds me of "40 days and 40 nights in the wilderness" where one would definitely eventually come to "running on empty." Is that the way the drunk feels when he wants one more and there's nothing left to drink in the house but water? Ron

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 5:00:29 AM
This one gives me a shiver, Odin. But is it a shiver of expectation, or dread?

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 3:30:37 AM
by letting go what you are, become what you might be. Sage advice for everyone.

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 9:50:59 PM
To me, the secret is, what you might be, you already are. I respect your poetry, it comes across as very professional. Thank you.

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 3:02:09 PM
1

Running On Empty (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 1:22:46 PM
Trying to describe nothingness is like probing the innards of a black hole. It can't be done, but I believe you've nailed the event horizon quite well.

B/W Dreamed In Color (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 12:07:19 PM
Coercion can be a good thing, from time to time. I love the 'weavery' of your imagery. I can almost see a knock-down, drag-out fight between the b/w & color... color WINS! at all cost!

B/W Dreamed In Color (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 7:16:30 AM
I believe I sense the metaphor of the polarization going on in the world described as B/W and the idea of diversification expressed as color. That's my dream, and I'm sticking to it! ;-) Ron

Beginnings Await (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 5:56:55 AM
While I found the wording and imagery fascinating, I lost a bit of the "clarity" described below. All I could think of was the passage of time that somehow linked to childhood memories of rituals like going to church on Sundays. Ron

Beginnings Await (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 1:50:28 AM
New Beginnings are usually marvelous.

Beginnings Await (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 3:25:59 PM
I love this poem for the clarity, language and subtle imagery. It sets the right mood. But the last stanza seems a bit crowded as if too many words and ideas got slapped together.

Misnomers of Fame (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 1:00:40 PM
Brilliant train of thought. Not how I would think though, but commendable.

Eye-Opening Light (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 11:36:01 AM
Ha! Short? Public Schools provide NOTHING now. Maybe a 20 year old textbook and parents get a long list of supplies due the first day of school. Desk , chair and teacher still provided. Oh, and don't forget the dozen fundraisers throughout the year.... And the activity fee, the bus fee........

Closure Revisited (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 11:25:36 AM
I've read this a few times, I see the tattoo of narcissism etched across the whole piece. A true narcissist is very Skilled and adept a making their perception a reality and incredible insane when discovered for their actions. Heartless and selfish. You could not have captured it more perfectly. Deftly written and exacting. I have sincere empathy for anyone trying to escape from their psychotic hell. Black is white and white is black. Kudos if you ran!

Misnomers of Fame (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:23:19 AM
I'm thankful that works of art last longer than my ability to recall names. I could not recall a nearby street's name, went past it, memorized the name, and could not recall it again today. Now I wonder, which goes first--the mind or the body?

Misnomers of Fame (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:36:14 AM
Your poem made me remember relatively unknown artists who shaped me, like Michael Jerry, a modern day Paul Revere who taught me so much about design in one short course. And others along the way who showed the way by example. The great ones range from the complex like Michelangelo to the simple, like Mondrian, Dylan, Thoreau, and Lennon. So many giants to try to raise our own are above their massive shoulders. Ron

Misnomers of Fame (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 3:42:57 AM
Long Live Free Spirits and Artists

Misnomers of Fame (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 10:16:03 PM
I love the Escher accompanying the poem. It fits. However, I stumbled over ipiphanous. Did you mean epiphanous? Even though it too is obscure. Epiphanic might be more accessible for modern readers. It is still uncommon enough to provide the contrast you require.

Eye-Opening Light (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:09:09 AM
Never joined them for I saw the light early. The hypocrisy that holds the high and mighty and keeps them in their place. I much prefer the down and dirty, ordinary life to the eternal scratching for a hollow higher place in life. Once again you hit the nail on the head about our own little caste system that we uphold so steadfastly in this country. I don't know why more people don't see the light? Ron

Eye-Opening Light (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:02:35 AM
I liked the image -"honesty's gravity" - it bites harsh as gravel.

Dejection, Rejection, Connection (Poetry) - 4/17/2015 7:22:20 AM
Except in a hospital, I never had a cold meal in my life, so I can't relate. Nor, can I relate to heading for the corner bar for a shot or two to ease some rejection pain. Yet I can relate to this poem because it is so poignant and well-written. Innocence always sparks hope for a new day. Ron

Once He Wrote (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 4:34:54 PM
We often forget the gargantuan changes made in our lifetimes -- more than hundreds of generations before us. Not all of the changes are without costs. Thanks for the reminder.

Closure Revisited (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 6:48:45 PM
oh my heavens ...sounds like a NIGHTMARE....so sorry.. I certainly hope you find your soulmate Hugsss

Closure Revisited (Poetry) - 4/13/2015 6:55:46 AM
You must've been very badly hurt to be able to express so vividly your disdain with words that I could not even be able to comprehend. Seething good stuff. Ron

Closure Revisited (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:06:59 PM
Sounds like an exorcism of a vampire or maybe a Hollywood "C" movie. Another Howl?

Passion's Shoal (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 10:35:01 AM
Wisdom comes with daring, but sometimes troubles come with daaring also. It's like a book, this poem, says lots of truth aand mkes one wonder - do we want to explore beyond the shoal?

Echoes of Silence (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 10:32:50 AM
You write with reverence and sincerity, eh, the endings are always so good.

Missed By No One (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 10:31:44 AM
Why, things happen, it's up to our maker i suppose.

Closure Revisited (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 10:30:22 AM
Word shared here should make you feel better - we've been through it, lots of us, i'm finished, completely finished with even trying - its gotten that bad with those i cared about.

Echoes of Silence (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:50:18 AM
You have covered both the range of silent happenings from the discovery that silence is a punishment to the idea that silence is calm and reassuring, all the way to how silence affects the way we develop from womb to death. All so beautifully expressed. Now experiencing some hearing loss, I expect that eventually I will live in entirely silent world like my mother when no hearing aid will be able to help me hear. Ron

Mr. Worm (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 4:22:24 AM
I often observe worms, especially in the spring, And these abysmal days of human destruction, I often think that even worms may be wiser than us.

Mr. Worm (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 10:48:39 AM
Odin, I read each and every write you post and rarely do I review/comment and for that I apologize, but my meager little brain most often does not "get" what you are saying hence no review, but with this one it seems a bit of a change for you, something, I don't know, maybe brighter, less dark, more understandable for certain & thank you for that, as it makes me feel a bit more intelligent than I know I am for the most part not...-e-

Mr. Worm (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 2:05:08 AM
A good reminder. We humans have gone from one of the predators across the savanna to masters of the planet. We have the power to command light and dark, life and death. Even the simple act of kicking a stone off the path has consequences, perhaps to a worm who'll find it an insurmountable obstacle.

Mr. Worm (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 11:08:42 AM
I think the whole of nature knows far more of 'how the heavens go' than we do, for all our science and perceived wisdom. I like the show of respect in this ode, Odin. It seems something a bit different for you, but a good departure. And interesting thoughts well-expressed. Thank you. Kate xx

Chameleon Battlescapes (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 7:48:07 AM
The digital age certainly brings out the best and worst in us. It will be for history to decide but I would like to side on the better. Ron

Chameleon Battlescapes (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 3:15:02 PM
This poem is very evocative of our postmodern ethos. I especially liked the phrases "minds to erase" and "glossy pundit voices".

Missed By No One (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 5:18:25 AM
Quite powerful, and quite sad.

Missed By No One (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 4:43:47 AM
A nice portrait of a morning in the greatest city in the world where contrast abounds in the richness trickles down to the poor in the form of a partially used cigar. But the morning sun falls equally upon everyone, but especially the observant visitor. Beautifully written with much compassion. Ron

Missed By No One (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 1:32:09 AM
I like the image: "bar hoppers hurl-stew" -- I also find the time of day appropriate, for as anyone knows who's been homeless in a cold city, it's dangerous to try and sleep before sunrise.

Missed By No One (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:31:21 PM
an inspiring tale. Nice!

Passion's Shoal (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 8:16:46 AM
More wisdom to be savored. I am constantly being cautioned to stay within a safe environment (a shoal) for my own safety and contentment. Yet I yearn to get out into the world and experience more like I did in the past when I had no one to tell me that it was dangerous, risky or downright suicide for me to go. But I did, and have those memories of those fantastic experiences to bode me well in this time of "safe" living. Ron

Desertion (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 6:29:56 AM
All I can think of is that one can be alone and rise above without feeling deserted. Ron

Desertion (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 5:48:19 PM
Wow! This taps into your pure essence, at least from my viewpoint. It's a stunning expression of finding meaning through poetic inquiry while letting those of us with fewer skills in on one or more of your secrets. As clever reviewers might say, "it's a keeper!"

Mystic Fly Casting (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 11:35:28 AM
This is a wonderful poem. In particular enjoyed: Is it the pumping heart that keeps operative the lure that makes the pull-in so rewarding, the catch and release so needed in keeping alive the dreams? It reminds me of this children's poem I painted on my son's dresser , complete with clouds and the fishing pole. I'll send the poem separate.

Mystic Fly Casting (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 4:28:11 AM
It is thrilling to realize thank we are all part of that celestial campfire ... thank you for inviting me.

Boundaries (Poetry) - 3/28/2015 12:03:10 PM
~Odin~ Exceptional!! Lady Mary Ann

Mystic Fly Casting (Poetry) - 3/28/2015 11:57:37 AM
~Odin~ Beautiful...in keeping alive the dreams. Lady Mary Ann

Mystic Fly Casting (Poetry) - 3/28/2015 9:41:50 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!! I LIKE IT!!!!!!!!! ''until unknown stars blink their infinite welcome''-----BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Mystic Fly Casting (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 4:57:00 PM
wow...how deep is deep..great writing...

Tears Ever of War (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 4:53:18 PM
when is the question....I say never... great write...

Tears Ever of War (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 4:04:54 PM
It's hard to know that we're even in need of a cry in this desperation about what's to become of all these wars, orphans, widows, permanent camps because they cannot go home, ever. The appropriate response is to cry, but we try to fight it usually until one final piece of information or visual reminder, sucker punches us in the gut and we can't help it anymore. Can tears bring peace. Not that this reader has experienced. It's more a release from suffering overload, only temporary, waiting for the next thing piled onto our conscience. If we could all cry at once, disarmed, there might be peace, but when indeed. Thanks for sharing. D

Boundaries (Poetry) - 3/26/2015 6:02:25 AM
Your writing gift shines here, Odin. Totally enjoyed this. Continued inspiration... r

Boundaries (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 5:14:16 PM
wow....what a journey....I couldn't stop reading this...... Excellent writing....Hugss

A Poet's Desire (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 7:54:48 AM
Excellent writing... shh.....I hear..I feel..

A Dry Heart Is... (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 7:51:27 AM
your heart is beating.....your heart is beautiful don' forget that....

Excellence Knows Loneliness (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 7:19:26 AM
keep writing you have a gift...sighh...

Anticipating Yesterday's Tomorrow (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 7:17:40 AM
indeed..this is great..enjoyed..

Anticipating Yesterday's Tomorrow (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 5:45:43 AM
Clever and fun to read. But I must wait for tomorrow's yesterday to unwind and to reveal a few more of her imponderables before offering a more detailed set of impressions. For the moment it's feeling good. :)

Destiny's Nemesis (Poetry) - 3/24/2015 9:22:54 AM
Some of us are adventurous and avoid the pitfalls from experience gained.

Listening For the Light (Poetry) - 3/24/2015 7:39:17 AM
While I found the juxtaposition between two senses, vision and hearing to be superbly analyzed and exposed, I was surprised not to find any of the others, especially smell, one of my favorites, or feeling, either from the touch or the brush of sound waves across a soft cheek thrilling the heartbeat pounding in the air like a drum. And then the sense of premonition before the sun's light peeks over the ridge and burns the retina of the eyeball that unknowingly stares at its blaring cymbal of radiance. Tasting the upside down tang of heavy metal bass guitar string vibrations. Forgive me… You got me waxing poetic. Ron

Listening For the Light (Poetry) - 3/24/2015 5:15:21 AM
The pendulum swings wide here. A melody/aria ascending and descending. White (the absence of color) and black (a confluence of all color) and somewhere flailing in-between humanity roils and churns always seeking to find the very thing that's always all around them. Since I was very young I have always found quietude (like the silence in the forest) the requisite pursuit for mental and spiritual health. It's one of the few things I've gotten right. "that special convergence of another dimension," This touched me. You know... I wrote a piece - 'Vision beyond cornfields' - a couple years ago that I never was led to share. I've always been that way though; only share about one in ten. Your summation in this piece, Odin-friend, I think, has tinctured the moxie in me necessary to consider sharing it. Good insight. Enjoyed. r

Listening For the Light (Poetry) - 3/24/2015 4:39:32 AM
As fine a description of synesthesia as I've seen in a long time. May we all celebrate that quiet ... too few have the ability to travel between those dimensions with the word skills to help us understand.

Quiet Opulence (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 4:24:03 PM
wow..great writing...

Quiet Opulence (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 12:45:52 PM
It is said (by Mr. Anonymous)that "the wealthiest person is not the one who has the most, but the one who needs the least." You have just described that person with at least equal insight. I envy all three of you.

Quiet Opulence (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 8:53:15 AM
I wonder what it would be like with the stress of reaching the financial "top" and all the attendant pressure to "do this or do that," that extreme wealth entails. I much prefer the second idea proffered in your poem. Reaching contentment and self-fulfillment. I'd like to think that I'll reach that place very soon and let fame and fortune slide off like the slippery snakes they can be. Ron

Quiet Opulence (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 5:34:22 AM
An enviable place you've discovered, and elegantly described. Alibaba and Solomon would be envious.

Light's Shadow-Chase (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 4:12:23 AM
Lest we get caught up in the BS of misinformation, without light there is no illumination. We need far more light in this sad and dark world today.

Light's Shadow-Chase (Poetry) - 3/19/2015 6:08:28 AM
"Although I walk through the shadow of death, I will fear no evil." Your poem foreshadows the future, as many of your poems do, and tell of the pitfalls to come. I am of a more optimistic tone, knowing that the Internet is now uniting the world in ways never before thought of and many practices that have gone unnoticed that were detrimental but condoned in the past are now being revealed for what they are. And they are many. For example, Australia just banned the import of lion trophies. I remember when, if someone had a stuffed lion in their living room, they were thought of as a great white hunter. That image is changing rapidly, worldwide. There are many many more examples like this after every day because of information, not misinformation. I have hope that our children will be able to solve the overpowering problems of nuclear proliferation, climate change, and religious fanaticism. The more information like this poem reaches the world, the less power misinformation will have. Ron

Flotsam As Treasure (Poetry) - 3/18/2015 5:32:50 AM
"You can't teach an old dog new tricks." But with this poem, you sure tried. I believe that everyone reaches the end of their rope, eventually. I recall the old Vietnamese alteration shop owner who had me help him with English translations of classic Vietnamese poems. "I lost everything three times!" He exclaimed. But he always came back. Had to flee North Vietnam with nothing when the French left in 1954. Had to flee Saigon with nothing when the Vietcong took the city in 1975. His first business in the United States failed. I knew him as a successful entrepreneur who made clothes for the likes of Hakeem Olajuwon. His family was dysfunctional, but he loved poetry more than his life. Ron

Rejection's Permafrost (Poetry) - 3/17/2015 6:00:54 AM
There is something about rejection that stings and turns people away, sometimes. For others, it increases resolve that sometimes leads to greater success. I can't help wonder about those duels between well matched singers on The Voice, where one is accepted and the other is rejected by their coach and mentor and not allowed to continue. It must be devastating for some of them… Much more so than being voted out by the public popularity vote. And then you shift to another kind of reaction. The rejection of our heritage, our source of survival, in favor of the bright lights of the city artificially produced on the back of mother nature and the natural tendency to want exotic things, whether it be carved ivory, some supposed aphrodisiac from gorilla or tiger parts, or even sushi or shark fin soup to serve a superior way of living to the detriment of our nest. And a messy nest, it is. Ron

Rejection's Permafrost (Poetry) - 3/17/2015 5:09:41 AM
Considering how many times rejection has vomited acid into my life, I've rationalized often 'why not' write about those always debilitating experiences. I've never had the moxie though. Can't motivate myself to dig up those corpses. Rejection is the one thing that almost destroyed me on several occasions. But when I look back with a clearer, more stoic eye, I can't condemn what I went through because it also helped form who I am. You're absolutely correct too: 'What goes around comes around'. Seedtime and harvest. What one plants in their lives, or in the lives of others, they will, in due season, reap in full measure. You've touched a nerve in me here, Odin-friend. It takes a talent of the soul to find any joy, or wisdom, in the pain of rejection and come out of that war-zone stronger and more focused. Well done. Continued inspiration... rlc

Rogue Romanticism (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 11:47:12 AM
Ask does love’s omnipresent essence really need an object connection to another object to be realized as…well, Romance? I believe that perhaps the romance IS that connection of two things, Odin, however random or seemingly unsuitable. There's nothing more fake than 'romance' for the sake of it where the essence is just not there; on the other hand, romance IS the spark conjoining two things that exist in confluence of love, even if in themselves they (one or other) are not deemed to be 'romantic', no? Love the artwork you have selected to contribute to your work here. As always, thought-provoking work. xx

Rogue Romanticism (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 4:12:24 AM
Have you been reading my mind? How I love the wilderness. How, upon finding a forgotten vacant building conjure up what living there must've been like or a ghost town and its boisterous past. I have all of the "most forgotten," and they are my passion (along with writing). Thanks for reminding me how romantic my life is. I just saw a performance of Circa du Solieu. While their acts are physical feats of skill, they have a strong romantic component in most of them. I still like flirtatious women the best. Ron

Tomorrow's Canvases Await (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 8:31:24 AM
Wonderfully put and ingested like a nourishing meal on this end. 'the buried child within' is a sobering, and all too real image for many creative types. Unfortunately there are some who remain buried. Enjoyed this. r

Tomorrow's Canvases Await (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 6:11:35 AM
A kaleidoscope of passage and an assurance that as life changes and new challenges arise, so will future generations to meet them. Wordsmithing at its best. Ron

Tomorrow's Canvases Await (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 5:24:19 AM
A brilliant portrait of life in a wondrous panoply of words. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tomorrow's Canvases Await (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 3:47:36 AM
while tomorrow's canvases await the buried child within to act. I like to 'bring out the child' as often as I still can - makes tomorrow's canvas so much better.

A Wordsmith's Diet (Poetry) - 3/14/2015 7:52:34 AM
I had to chew on the last two lines. Today's lexicon is a feast for writers as the English language adds words by the thousands each year. Still, deep in the bowels of ancient literature lie words that can be dusted off and reused in new ways. Makes me wonder what the Chinese language, indecipherable to me as to offer, or the Thai language with its multi-character words of great length. All these wonders to behold makes writing even more possible today than it ever was. Ron

Barmecidal Dreamscapes (Poetry) - 3/13/2015 12:26:51 PM
Your piece (if not just a work of imagination) exudes much about its author. It's one of the things I love about your inventions, Odinsan; I never really know if it's real or if it's Memorex. Haha. Seems your protagonist gave it all, and always, only to find the landscape inundated with leeches who appeared one way but behind the masks they were desperate to suck the life from you. If this is accurate I can surely relate. Ambition can be construed as a cherished desire, or the overwhelming drive for success. I operated in the latter only for a short season in my twenties and early-thirties. Primarily because it began forcing me to compromise to reach my goals. The more I compromised the more diluted and deluded I became. During those days there was a blinking red-light in my heart constantly that I finally paid attention to. It's funny... when I got my priorities straight, and got rid of all the expectations I had of what I thought was due me, I began to accomplish things I never dreamed I could. To this day that hasn't changed. Your work is straight from the heart and honestly shared. Just that makes you a great success in my book. Peace 2 U... rlc

Barmecidal Dreamscapes (Poetry) - 3/13/2015 6:32:09 AM
This poem is full of references to something innate in the naivety of youth. With small encouragement from minor successes, so many are drawn to the bright lights of promise only to find that that dream that was so bright in the beginning slowly fades and the only medicine is the bartender, or worse, a drug dealer near the end of the line. We all take a number, but most never make it to that counter called, "success." I often thought of all the young people from my small town who, bored with its average character, took off for the big city as soon as they could. So many came back home with their tails between their legs, and settled into those ordinary, boring lives of their parents. I escaped through college and never went back. But I, too, did not reach the rung of success that I thought I would. Ron

Why Bother Dying? (Poetry) - 3/12/2015 7:55:12 AM
Can't get my mind around this one. As an existentialist, I absorb and live for the moment. I am seeped in history, and from it, conjure up a future that I gladly go to, knowing that I will die, and perhaps, deteriorate on the way. But I will rest assured that the future I conjured up will come to pass without me, for, with or without me (immortality) is not possible at this time. As Dickinson, van Gogh and so many others that we know so well (but are un-revocably dead) can attest, it is only through our works that the "journey proceeds,"not in our spirits or persona, carrying on. Ron

Smoldering Ice (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 3:03:12 PM
I agree,political parties aside, that more care is needed in regards to nature. Some simple changes make a huge difference. Shouldn't even take a scientist to explain clean water.

Smoldering Ice (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 11:14:28 AM
Whether one believes in climate change or not, there is nothing wrong in being "green". The flat out denial of climate change is the one thing that really scares me about republicans. Michael D.

Covered Emotions (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 12:47:45 PM
Like every palimpsest, the former works show through to add depth, texture and meaning - sometimes unintentional and yet uncannily appropriate - to the whole. Would we all had the intelligence and 'listening ear to see' that the accompanying dog has! :) An intriguing work, Odin, thank you.

Covered Emotions (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 3:19:01 AM
Time Runs Out on All of Us - so we must all paint our own canvas to leave behind.

Covered Emotions (Poetry) - 3/8/2015 8:41:06 AM
I really enjoyed this personification of a canvas painted over and over, gathering layers of meanings. From a seaside childhood to a circus, and finally to an abstract one of a kite and a rock. He is hanging on a wall in a museum now, perhaps getting the legitimacy that he's always wanted...to be loved finally. The buried emotion is about the layers of the canvas, hoping that the top is the most mature work of the painter. Then there is the little vignette of the blind man sitting before the painting, with his seeing-eye dog seated on the floor next to him. Ironic that the blind man sits, knowing it's a worthy work, perhaps from passersby comments. Great work, you could probably turn this into a short story. Excellent poem. Best, DW

History's Ashtray (Poetry) - 3/5/2015 8:50:48 AM
I think it's acrid enough. Unfortunately far too many are so de-sensitized they don't feel anymore. Some blistering imagery, Odinsan. 'Smaze'... good word. A mixture of smoke and haze. Clever.

History's Ashtray (Poetry) - 3/5/2015 8:29:08 AM
So many revel in the taste of self-destruction without even knowing it. What a shame. Your poem brought the revelation to me that fires are a part of nature, usually brought about by lightning, and infrequently brought about by lava flow. Perhaps all of our burning down of bridges is just a human way of extending natural burns, needed for renewal and rebirth. Ron

NIght Wars (Poetry) - 3/4/2015 6:41:36 AM
I think everyone, from time to time, has sleepless nights. And there are some, perhaps many, who use alcohol and other drugs to knock themselves out for a few hours to drive away the nightmares. From time to time, when my outrageous behavior offended someone, or someone treated me badly (mostly at work) I would spend a sleepless night trying to figure out how I could have changed things or, perhaps, dealt with the bully at work that was exercising his playground power. Fortunately, I've never had to take a pill to go to sleep and probably never will. What happened to innocence? Well, I think it should have ended with childhood. But I may be proven guilty. ;-) Ron

Love's Enigma (Poetry) - 3/3/2015 12:56:16 PM
I recall reading that there were three kinds of love. But the one that gives us the most hope and pain is always that first one, that attraction that is often repelled and sometimes, received that burns in our memory long after that flame may have died. It's a powerful emotion, that's for sure. With this you have written a different kind of love poem. Ron

Love's Enigma (Poetry) - 3/2/2015 7:17:00 PM
Your next to last verse is as perfect a summation of the enigma as I have ever read. Take it away and this life is as meaningless a mess as could be imagined.

Love's Enigma (Poetry) - 3/2/2015 12:18:14 PM
Conundrum indeed. It's certainly a personal thing as well. If everything written about love was suddenly removed from the earth I can imagine the library's and archives would have a lot of space in them. Still... it doesn't stop creative minds from endeavoring to sketch something palpable about this most powerful mystery. Poignant thoughts, Odin. Peace...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.