AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: CHANTI LACE, iHelen Vandepeer, iDilip Dahanukar, iMiranda Pope, iNeil Levin, iDarryl Jenkins, iRichard French, i
 
Home > Edward C. Patterson
 

Recent Reviews for Edward C. Patterson


A Reader's Guide to Author's Jargon and Other Ravings from the Blogosphere (Book) - 10/23/2013 8:33:01 AM
A quirky, highly-informative outpouring of what has obviously been years of wading through the writing swamp. Useful information delivered with a wry wit makes for very good copy. Although I'm as straight as they come, I think I'd enjoy sampling a novel by Mr. Ed.

The Road to Grafenwöhr (Book) - 8/17/2011 9:31:29 PM
I truly enjoyed reading your preview of the Road to Grafenwohr". Brought back memories for me as well, having been stationed in Baumholder Germany three years in the early seventies. My Armored reconn unit was assigned to the 1/87th Infantry 8th Army Division over there.

Are You Still Submitting Your Work to a Traditional Publisher? (Book) - 7/26/2009 10:57:03 AM
I give you credit for your honest. There are plenty of writers that I met in groups that never got published and won't publish themselves. I also met several who published work that just wasn't ready. Your honesty about quality is refreshing. Also every non-writer I know thinks a published book means millions of dollars, you cleared that up for everyone. This book should be read by everyone thinking about publishing.

No Irish Need Apply (Book) - 5/30/2009 8:13:13 PM
"I only ask to be free. The butterflies are free. Mankind will surely not deny to Harold Skimpole what it concedes to the butterflies." -Bleak House, by Charles Dickens- No Irish Need Apply is a brilliantly written novel most worthy to sit next to some of the greatest writers. It speaks from the very soul of the author to the soul of the reader. Two boys of Irish background know inside they are different but not exactly sure if they are gay, and certainly don't know if they want others to know. This keeps them alienated from the rest of the world until they discover one another. They are not products of perversion or trauma. They come from Irish Catholic background. Sarah, Kevin's mother, pushes the boys to each take a date to the prom together. "Make it a double date," she said. Rumors around the school already have it that the two boys are gay, but the prom night may show a spectacular come out for both. Edward C. Patterson knocks down the barriers to see the superficial discrimination of gays without knowing who they are or judging them by a stereotype and this enlightening novel, like Butterflies Are Free, shows the world of a gay as seen through the eyes of a young person who is gay. Open your mind. Be enlightened to this. Is has an invaluable lesson. What humbled me about this tale was Sarah was presented up front as though she would be someone who would have been heart broken to hear that her child was gay. Perhaps the type (stereotype that is) who would not accept Kevin or Louis for who they were. Yet, the reader finds the reason why you can't judge the book by its cover--no matter if you are gay or straight! And it shows the real reason why they are accepted. Sarah has a true love for everyone--not just her own son but someone else's son. Are you a parent? How would you judge your son and the other man in his life? You can be a Sarah or a Louise. It hits both audiences and the truth is the truth! The point is well taken and the boys are fascinating their audiences with the wonder of discovering who they were. (This is not a sexually explicit book.) Edward C. Patterson leaves a mark of enlightenment on the reader with his beautifully delivered narrative prose. Laurie Foston

The Jade Owl (Book) - 4/19/2009 3:45:48 PM
Make That Five Snaps Up and a Circle Round the World, Honey!!! That’s for you, Simone DeFleurry!! Who’s Simone DeFleurry? Well, she’s actually Simon Geldfarb, the S-I-G-N-I-F-I-C-A-N-T ‘significant other’ of John Battle’s son. Who’s John Battle? John Battle was Rowden Gray’s professor at Columbia University and someone that claimed to have held The Jade Owl in very own his hands. Who’s Rowden Gray and what’s The Jade Owl? Rowden Gray is the protagonist that’s just had the position of working at the San Francisco Museum of East Asian Arts and Culture yanked out from underneath him and if you’re asking these questions, it’s clear you haven’t read The Jade Owl. Now I have a question for you? Why not?!! The Jade Owl is wonderful read! It’s full of myth and legend –fact and fantasy. It crosses between historical reference to fun-filled fiction and back again as easily as Simone picks out an ensemble! It’s as big and expansive as the country the infamous owl originated – and just as enigmatic! Mr. Edward Patterson does a fabulous job of weaving and holding his story together with that most special of glues – imagination! The result is a pleasurable read. It’s as easy as gliding down the Yangtze in a Dragon boat under the brilliance of a full moonl! You just don’t want it to end and wish it could go on forever!!! There’s a whole host of interesting characters acting as some magical crazy glue catalysts. They drive each other – and the story –forward. Then there’s The Jade Owl itself. Will it ever be found? Will it ever be reunited with its rightful owner? Who is its rightful owner? And is there a grander scheme behind it all? Most importantly, will the blasted creature ever stop hooting at the least opportune moments? All these questions are answered in their own time and we are there to witness history! … well, invented history! And isn’t that the best kind? Especially when the outcome is safely in the expert hands of Edward C. Patterson!!! A toast to Mr. Patterson, China, a drag queen that knows how to run in heels and hooty owls everywhere!!!

The Third Peregrination (Book) - 3/28/2009 7:44:23 AM
Just when you think a series can't get better, sometimes you receive a wonderful surprise that the sequel in its own way outshines the original work. The Third Peregrination is the sequel to The Jade Owl. Seems that little Jade Owl just keeps them drawing into mysteries that now only affect the meaning of Chinese relics that were part of Rowden Gray and Nicholas Battle's adventure, but they tear the veil of time itself to fulfill their destinies. Our favorite 'China Hands' masters in the legends and histories of the Chinese culture return back to China to learn about the pull each of the participants and their roles in an ancient mystery that affects life itself as we know it. The cast of characters, most whom we met in The Jade Owl, Rowden (Rowdy) Gray, Nicholas Battle, son of noted Sinologist John Battle, Simone/Simon, Nick's life partner who are now married, Rowdy's wife Audrey, then Rowdy's ex-wife, Rose, as well as unforgetable secondary characters, create an amazing adventure that literally has the fate of the world in their hands. The New China Hands must return to China with their relics to follow the story/banners of the Seven Sisters and uncover what they truly mean and why that Jade Owl seems to be in each one. So a group of four who eventually becoming a group of five tear through time itself back to the time where this all began. But something is happening - Each of the friends seems to be 'gifted' with powers never thought of - from telepathy to telekinesis, to I cannot even begin to tell you - but it will blow your mind. They are satellites around the Jade Owl wanting to pull them to do what has been deemed. The Third Peregrination is a big book - 661 pages, but don't let that length shy you away from reading. Every page draws you in and puts you in the adventure there with our friends, whom you will care deeply for. Edward Patterson is an amazing writer. He is a Sinologist and knows China backwards and forwards, and paints a picture of what is happening, the legendary characters our friends meet, and the almost hallicugenic realtime events the characters go through. If I could order the 3rd in the series right now, I would, but alas I have to wait. While this book can be said to be a stand alone book, I think the back-story would be a plus and to read The Jade Owl would certainly add to the amazement and fun. You care for these characters, root for them to succeed AND to fail at their destinies. A worthy read from an amazingly prolific author, whose books I have read maintain the same quality and care of being true to the plot and character development. I have a very limited knowledge of Mandarin Chinese, so have to rely on the phrases spoken by the locals or characters when it happens in the book to be understood. I don't think having translations would add to the book, as you can figure what is said by actions and reactions. Did I say I love this book? A great read. ellen george

The Jade Owl (Book) - 3/15/2009 7:18:11 AM
China, present day and past, is still so mysterious and inviting. Sinologist Edward C. Patterson has written a masterful epic in The Jade Owl that will not only have you glued to this 595 page book, but have you before you are half way through the book, ordering book 2 of this series, The Third Peregrination! Patterson's masterful story deals with an amazing 'work of art' The Jade Owl, commissioned by Empress Wu, and with its charmer/creator, became the stuff legends are made of from the Middle Kingdom on in China's impressive legends. It is not only a magnificent piece of art, but a metaphysical power that can enchant and destroy. A group of Sinologists from San Francisco become part of The Jade Owl's destiny, including Dr. Rowden Gray, and Nick Battle, son of Grey's former mentor. Nick takes Dr. Gray to Chinatown - the ancient relic The Jade Owl still exists! Battle takes Gray to a club and Gray meets Nick's love, Simone DeLefleurry, or Simon as some may call him. So starts the beginnings of great friendships that encompass continents. The China Hands that were born to find the stuff of legends and must right the laws of ch'i before the Jade Owl and its destructive power literally change life as we know it. Patterson is a well known sinologist who has taken the legends of China and breathed life into them in a non-stop Indiana Jones meets the Great Wall of China type of adventure. It is an amazing trek into the world of China and its people and history, and a series of love stories. As a fledgling writer, I am always amazed the brilliance of someone's writing where a complex story is not only told with beauty, but each sentence seems touched by a poetic gleam. The Jade Owl, like Gary Val Tenuta's The Ezekiel Code, is riveting and unforgettable. Mr. Patterson is a prolific writer, and those works I have been honored to read so far have been told with grace and power. May The Jade Owl hoot in your ear and have you ordering your copy. The book, the Chinese mythology, the friendships are all truly magical. You will be recommending Edward C. Patterson's books to anyone asking if you happen to know any good books to read - Patterson is a literary force to be reckoned with - much like his metaphysical forces - ethereal as the wind, yet as powerful. ellen george

No Irish Need Apply (Book) - 2/8/2009 2:50:34 PM
Louis Lonnegan had always known he was different from the other boys in school. He didn’t much care for sports, and he didn’t much care for girls, at least not romantically. Obvious to everyone, with the exception of his widowed Irish Catholic mother, Louis was frequently ostracized by his schoolmates, occasionally made fun of, and from time to time physically assaulted because of who he was. Kevin Borden was also the son of a widowed Irish Catholic mother, but he was quite different from Louis in many ways but not all. Kevin, an attractive athlete had the attention of many of the high school girls and as a result was also the envy of many of the boys. Paired together with Louis to be study partners, Kevin connects with Louis in ways he hadn’t previously. He begins to question his own orientation and even though he finds himself drawn to Louis, he refuses to think of himself as “gay”. But he discovers the feelings he has are real and aren’t to be denied. Hiding the truth from their parents and schoolmates, Kevin and Louis must choose to continue leading a lie or forever open the door about who they are to the world and the consequences be damned. In No Irish Need Apply, Edward C. Patterson parallels the persecution and prejudice of Irish Immigrants in our nation’s history to the plight suffered by gays in society. Integrating the familial and social pressures to conform along with the subtle and sometimes not so subtle persecution of gays, Patterson offers hope to those finding themselves and their place in the world. A brave, thoughtful, and moving novel, Patterson dedicates his work to the Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) organization.

Bobby's Trace (Book) - 12/20/2008 11:09:50 AM
A fine read! Perry Chaplin is a programmer who is having a hard time. His life partner, Bobby, has passed from AIDS, as anyone who loved someone who's passed, it hurts the living to see them go. But, author Edward C. Patterson has written what if those crossed over mourn the loved ones left behind in the world of the living? Friends decide it's time for Perry to join the living instead of hurting from Bobby's death and sets him up with someone. As Perry finally goes on a 'blind date', Bobby's presence starts to be seen. You see, Bobby's not too happy that Perry is getting back to his lifestyle and he's starting to make himself known. Bobby's just as mournful as Perry is - each can no longer touch the other, and it's frustrating for Bobby seeing his partner on a date! Bobby's Trace or presence certainly is a force in this book. It also deals with church policy and the human heart, as well as the metaphysical aspect. Mr. Patterson writes with fluid elegance. You can put any person in the situation Perry's in, and Bobby too, male or female, and the premise still is a strong one. A sensitive read. A look at love that transcends love and relationships, regardless of gender. ellen george, reviewer

Fishing With Birds (Short Story) - 10/15/2009 6:40:33 PM
I found myself deeply drawn into this portrait of a young mans first catch...Bravo!

Fishing With Birds (Short Story) - 9/19/2009 4:49:24 PM
An enjoyable read, very well written.

Ch'i Lin and the Cup (Short Story) - 7/21/2009 10:49:25 AM
Very interesting! Is there more? The historical link to this I will visit!

Ch'i Lin and the Cup (Short Story) - 12/21/2008 10:20:59 AM
intresting story

First Review for Look Away Silence (Article) - 6/19/2010 11:19:58 AM
Thank you Lorraise

First Review for Look Away Silence (Article) - 6/14/2010 7:35:50 PM
This story should be put in a movie. Great story.

Striving to Engage Readers (Article) - 5/20/2009 1:40:39 AM
Edward enjoyed reading this posting "Striving to Engage Readers." I like your Motto! All the best to you in your writing. Have an enjoyable week and take care, Gwendolyn

5-star Review for The Dragon's Pool (Article) - 5/19/2009 4:18:20 AM
enjoyed the review

How the Kindle Saved My Life! Hellelujah! (Article) - 4/17/2009 11:51:57 AM
Excellent article Ed! I have a Kindle and haven't yet learned the many things it can do - Will have to get the directions (duh) and read what amazing things it can do - many thanks for your excellent words - I can see traveling it is a Godsend, but you opened my eyes to the Kindle - Can I get an AMEN? Always great words from a great writer! ellen

We Called It Love Day (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 9:01:59 AM
A reminder I needed today - although it's not Easter - I do feel for those fighting the war and those being tortured unnecessarily also in war zones. Peace is needed!

Out at Second Base (Poetry) - 4/23/2013 12:48:00 PM
This is as good as, “Casey at the Bat.” It certainly rings like it might be a true story that you put to verse. I didn't know that Japanese grenades were “pineapples.” I thought that only American ones at that design. But then, the Japanese were very good at copying us. Ron

Out at Second Base (Poetry) - 4/21/2013 12:15:30 PM
oh my goodness i loved this one...youwrite so truthfully raw and 'nekkid'...a truly rare talent in itself...kudos

We Called It Love Day (Poetry) - 4/1/2013 8:02:56 AM
A reminder that war is hell and you have lived through that hell to tell. I noted that the flow you faced was a horde in a couple of other minor typos, otherwise this is a wonderful poem for those who think war is some kind of patriotic requirement. By the way, in 1968, while working at Lenkurt–GTE with a lot of WWII veterans, including my best friend, Jack, who served on an intelligence submarine, I was responsible for system quality for a shipment of telephone switch gear to Okinawa, sold to our friends, the Japanese. Ron

We Called It Love Day (Poetry) - 4/1/2013 6:18:57 AM
This is a powerhouse. A story told with authenticity. I'm left to ponder the mood and the moment knowing that hell will be raging soon and this quiet setting will turn into an inferno. Okinawa was Japan's last stand, and few have captured it at the personal level like you have. Thank you.

We Called It Love Day (Poetry) - 4/1/2013 4:57:59 AM
A very good poem, Edward, well done.

His Last Hand (Poetry) - 3/26/2013 4:45:07 PM
Very powerful and rather original. I haven't read you before but I will certainly keep an eye open for your work.

His Last Hand (Poetry) - 3/24/2013 10:12:35 AM
A heartrending close-up look at war, World War II style. Reads like you lived it. Ron

His Last Hand (Poetry) - 3/24/2013 9:48:42 AM
Nice, Edward, good poem.

His Last Hand (Poetry) - 3/24/2013 6:54:44 AM
wow! just wow! would take me awhile to find a better way to say how stunningly good i thought thid s was

In the Dark Shadows (The Awakening) (Poetry) - 12/25/2012 10:56:01 AM
It begins it. I have been here before, as I could tell. For finding: that myself I have reborn But not seen, is forever to persist To gather around the seasons of space with the everlastingness of event With the layered energy as it is made of things. Into the logical fiber of the tribute: a thought arises And stays on course, slowly progressing, not done. By fear: the fear that’s been since forever, In the same space the inseparable normal good Being passed through mankind Came accessible to me: I fade into remoteness

Eruption (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 6:04:55 PM
It is as though you saw through their eyes. Wonderful... lost my grandfather in WWII, never knew him. Lost my late husband due to war. Bless you for a look into what these men went through. Love and Light

Who Gets the Flag (Poetry) - 6/20/2011 5:09:39 PM
The sadness this provokes in my heart is huge. I would hope your partners family would grant you the respect to acknowledge your place in this mans life. If not, just know not everyone feels as they do, some of us are believe in true love in whomever it resides. Wonderful write!

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 4/17/2011 8:57:01 PM
This I like very much.....melancholy but with a touch of sweetness and joy that is almost subliminal... Chip Bergeron

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 7/23/2010 8:28:42 AM
Beautifully human. What I wish for myself upon the failing of my body. Coming ever so soon. lol

Courage Inner (Poetry) - 3/8/2010 12:16:13 PM
**********B R A V O !!!!********** As sad and disturbing as this is -- and the cultural blindness (deliberate and otherwise) that is to blame --, it is impossible not to take pleasure in the poem as a poem. Thank you for posting this. Maybe it will open someone's eyes. xOx Phyllis xOx PS: Should you be looking for a market for this, keep an eye on on the Sensations Magazine site re upcoming themes. If you are not familiar with Sensations, I would be glad to fill you in. Just send me a message or write to me re my pen name [w/o spaces} at gmail. Pea

In the Dark Shadows (The Awakening) (Poetry) - 6/5/2009 10:04:50 AM
Wow, I am speechless. What an amazing work of art.

Courage Inner (Poetry) - 5/21/2009 9:01:16 AM
good poem

U-tsu-li-tsi tsa-du-li-a (Poetry) - 5/15/2009 4:44:58 AM
Interesting indeed dear man...stay safe and well..Hugss

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 5/11/2009 9:23:02 AM
Well written and a delight to the eyes and ears (I tend to read aloud). May your pen continue to flow!

Passing in My Arms (Poetry) - 5/11/2009 2:53:24 AM
Beautiful and deeply moving, I cried as I read this.

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 5/11/2009 2:48:04 AM
Beautiful, evocative and moving, thank you.

Along the Wall (Poetry) - 4/21/2009 9:27:48 AM
I like it Good Job

Passing in My Arms (Poetry) - 4/2/2009 7:23:37 AM
Superb poetry that breathes beautiful imagery and emotion. Cryssa

In the Dark Shadows (The Awakening) (Poetry) - 3/28/2009 8:33:00 PM
A well written and excellent poem,I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

I've Made Acquaintances in my Time (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 3:18:57 PM
Wonderful walk down memory lane, reliving what came before, if only in your mind. What treasures we all hold dear.... Be always safe, Karen

I am Medicine Flower (Poetry) - 3/15/2009 1:52:52 AM
Very unique poem.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

I am Medicine Flower (Poetry) - 3/12/2009 2:23:45 PM
Bright and very creative, nice writing... Be always safe, Karen

I am Medicine Flower (Poetry) - 3/12/2009 6:35:25 AM
Interesting pen..stay safe and well dear man..Hugsss

We Sent our Best (Poetry) - 3/4/2009 2:53:10 PM
Let the truth be told.... Be always safe, Karen

Personal Hero (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 11:53:15 PM
Excellent and powerful poem.I enjoy reading it.take care Edwin

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 2/22/2009 8:21:34 PM
An excellent and wonderful poem,take care Edwin

A Night with Rimbaud (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 4:00:53 PM
Edward, This is rich with evocation and nuance and beautifully phrased; truly worthwhile. John

Atop the Twin Towers (Poetry) - 2/18/2009 10:08:30 AM
Fantastic Link How Wonderful Your Poem To Be Published in The Poet!! Congrats! & A Very Fine Statuesque Poem At That!! Peace, Love & Poetry! Vickie

Over the Counter Encounter (Poetry) - 2/18/2009 10:05:21 AM
love's blossom fades with so much impendence of sorrows deep deep well...your words are beautiful & tenderly given in the healing voice of your love's tribute to your blue flower with honor for the blossomed garden once shared May your memories embrace you with the Deepest Salve of Love Much Love To You Poet & Continued Inspirations Embrace~Embrassé Vickie

Here in My Arms (Poetry) - 2/18/2009 9:57:55 AM
Edward, In all pronouncing sentiments of love's evocative voice your poem "Here in My Arms" is passion for the flame whom is the sole keeper of your romantic heart...how lovely this poem envisions Peace, Love & Poetry Vickie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.