AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Shoma Mittra, iAntoine Raphael, iRoxanne Howe-Murphy, iR.E.E.S Blogs Linda Smith, Publisher, iBill Johnson, iTheodore Soderberg, iSandy Lender, i

  Home > Fantasy > Books Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Michael T Jasper

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· 1 Titles
· Add to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Michael T Jasper, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


To Be Chosen
by Michael T Jasper   

Share this with your friends on FaceBook

Category: 

Fantasy

Publisher:  Wheatmark ISBN-10:  158736896X Type: 
Pages: 

424

Copyright:  October, 2007 ISBN-13:  9781587368967
Fiction


A fatherís materialism is erased by grief. A lovely witch parts with her minister husband. A gay college boy finds love, but learns sacrifice. Selected for a dangerous mission, they will fight together in city streets and barnyards to save the world. This controversial and sexy parable is about destiny, choices, and the true nature of Godís love.

Amazon
Barnes & Noble.com

Similar info can be found in a recent review under the features section on outinamerica.com.

 

Book Press Release

 

“To Be Chosen”

 

A novel by

 

Michael Travis Jasper

 

[424 pg. trade paperback]

 

--Retailers receive standard industry discounts & returnability—

--Distributed by Ingram

 

ISBN: 158736896X

ISBN-13: 9781587368967

 

 

 

Author bio appears below the synopsis and contact/order info.

 

To Be Chosen is a controversial novel based on the oft quoted, but rarely upheld concept that all human beings are equal and individuality has value. It has special appeal for a very large niche audience, but will also please a much more general mass readership.

 

The 424 page story contains and contrasts material as varied as: Christianity/paganism, gay/straight/bisexual characters, magic/mythology/spirituality, action/romance/suspense, and humor/tragedy.

 

While profound thoughts are provoked, the action on every page provides a glimpse at the hardest and sweetest human truths.  Engaging distraction from one’s real life. A sexy parable about destiny, choices, and the true nature of God’s love.

 

There are three main characters: a father whose materialism is erased by grief, a lovely witch parted from her minister husband, and a gay college boy who finds love and learns sacrifice. They are united by newfound supernatural powers and an ever-morphing spiritual guide to battle demons from another world and Earth’s past. A motley group of friends and even the ghosts of loved ones join these outcasts, chosen to be God’s Hammer, as they fight in city streets and farmyards to save mankind and each other.

 

While the book is completely “pro-Christian,” some ultra-religious people will not like the fact that gay people are treated as equal in the eyes of God. Also, the spiritual subject matter mixed with some graphic content (including: language, violence, gay and straight sex scenes) could scandalize some less liberal readers. The book is intended for a general adult (teenaged & above) audience.

 

Fans of every genre will be entertained. The alternative/fantasy view of our real and current world will appeal to readers of S.M. Stirling and Lord of the Rings. The Sci-fi aspects will please fans of Dune, Battlestar Galactica, and BBC America’s popular Torchwood. The mythological references will appeal to fans of The Davinci Code and TV’s Stargate. There is magic for lovers of Harry Potter, Laurell K. Hamilton, TV’s Heroes and Charmed—definitely Charmed. There are a few horrific moments for the Stephen King fan as well. Even Nora Roberts’ readers will be sucked in by the romance as will the lovers of Anne Rice. Catchy pop-culture infused dialogue will please the viewers of shows like Grey’s Anatomy and followers of the trendiest blogs. There is much here for the extensive gay reading audience especially.  Fans of William J. Mann and Michael Thomas Ford will delight in this. Viewers of Desperate Housewives, Brothers & Sisters, Queer As Folk, and even Will & Grace will be hooked. Please also note that musical devotees dedicated to the band Evanescence will be drawn to a haunting story that evokes the same atmosphere as Amy Lee’s ethereal voice and poignant, intense lyrics.

 

The few people that have had the chance to read this book before it was published often reported that though they thought the book was outside their usual preferred genre, they couldn’t put it down and enjoyed it very much.

 

A recent poll suggested that as many as 80% of people judge a book by its cover. That is a huge plus for this book. The author commissioned a local tattoo artist (much of this story is set in metropolitan Kansas City) to do a painting specifically for this novel. The resulting cover is spectacular. Almost everyone will be compelled to pick it up to see what it is about. Mr. Jasper admits with some embarrassment that he often chooses or rejects books based on the beauty of their covers.

 

While To Be Chosen has elements for drawing comparison to all of these wildly popular books, authors, and TV shows; the unusual intermix of content tells the story in a very original way.

 

One educated, early reader told Mr. Jasper when she read the novel, she felt as if she were watching a movie. This is the ideal type of reading experience to appeal to the modern culture’s fast-paced, movie-raised generations that are accustomed to the speed and style of endless cablevision and the internet.

 

The surprising bonus is that the thrilling action on every page is a reminder that even a freak like you is loved without limit. Ask yourself what you would do if you were chosen to better humanity…because you were.

Author Biography-----

 

Michael Travis Jasper is in the middle of his life, but at the beginning of his career as a novelist. “To Be Chosen” is his first book. Though raised in the small town of Troy, Kansas, he now resides in Kansas City, Missouri.  Media and friends may contact him at jasperswords.yahoo.com.   

 

Purchase the book from BarnesandNoble.com, Amazon.com, Wheatmark.com (the publisher), and many other online booksellers; or ask your local bookstore or library to order it for you.

 

Retailers & Libraries contact orders.wheatmark.com or call 1-888-934-0888 ext. 3 and reference ISBN: 978-1-58736-896-7…Retailers receive standard industry discounts & returnability.

 

 

All legitimate media outlets and reps should contact accounts.wheatmark.com to request a free review copy, providing: name, credentials, mailing address and instructions.

 

 

 




Professional Reviews

To Be Chosen
outinamerica.com


Want to review or comment on this book?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!




Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.