AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  RM DAmato, iMiller Caldwell, iLynn Friess, iArthur Jackson, iellen george, iNeil Ostroff, iJoAnna Drelleshak, i

  Home > Action/Thriller > Books Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Steven Nedelton

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 6 Titles
· Add to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Aug, 2008

Steven Nedelton, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.




Featured Book
Faces of Deception
by Elizabeth Parker

A fast paced thriller that will make you look over your shoulder and sleep with the lights on!..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
Beneath the Paler Sun 2nd Release
by Lori Maynard

Even during the darkest times, a light still shines somewhere. "Beneath the Paler Sun" is poetry inspired by the tougher times and a theme of faith, hope and love is fou..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Crossroads
by Steven Nedelton   

Share this with your friends on FaceBook
Books by Steven Nedelton
· The Raven Affair
                >> View all

Category: 

Action/Thriller

Publisher:  Asylett Press ISBN-10:  1934337560 Type: 
Pages: 

270

Copyright:  June 16, 2008
Fiction

A story about the international espionage coupled with paranormal...

snedelton
Novels by Steven Nedelton

This novel is about people involved in the applied field of paranormal and the battle for supremacy between the CIA and the KGB. The novel is international in its characters and the action streches from the US to France and Russia. It covers three decades of fierce competion for dominance in mind-control, a merciless conflict with a few survivors... 

 

...a woman’s voice came from the other end. The voice was heavily accented, most probably Russian. It sounded distorted, as if coming from a great distance. Definitely not from the Bronx.

“Yes, speaking,” he answered calmly, trying hard to hide his anxiety.

“The deal is off, Herr Sturm,” the voice said.

“Pardon me, I didn’t hear you,” he replied.

“Herr Sturm, the deal is off. Do you hear me now? Herr Sturm, Polf—whatever your name may be—the deal is

off. No money, no dollars, no rubbles, nada. Goodbye forever, Herr Polf. Go home Herr Polf. Go home. That’s my

advice to you. Until it is too late for you. Good night and never call back.”

“I would like to speak to Sokolov,” he shouted into the receiver, trying to argue the inevitable.

“Sokolov is dead. A corpse!” the voice shouted back and then the receiver on the other end went dead.

                       ***************

At least she hoped so.

However, it was possible that her former director might have been one of the very few privy to such information,

thus limiting the list of suspects that much more...more narrowly pointing in her direction.

For a long while she’d sat at her dining table that night, sipping cold coffee. She’d tried desperately to quantify

in her own mind her chances of surviving the obvious disaster. If she went to her true employers and told them that

she was a probable suspect, they could decide to dump her. In their eyes she would surely be quite expendable—in

spite of being a long-standing member of the CP. Intuitively, she’d known she could not trust them any longer. At

best, they would ask her to run to Russia, and she did not feel like leaving her France. Not yet, anyway.

On the other hand, she did not think that Sokolov could possibly know that she was under suspicion. She was

not sure of it herself. So, unless she told them... It was at that point that she thought of her former boss and his rather

strange, premature death. Had he been he murdered? Had the government suspected him of espionage? Had they

confronted him? Had he buckled under pressure and decided to take his own life? After all, the leak had to have

come from the top, everyone would assume that. And the more she thought about it, the more she felt that she was

still safe. For if he

him killed, then, again, she would be in the clear. No matter how she looked at it, it seemed that the spotlight was

on him, not her. And he was dead.

had been the suspect and had committed suicide, then she would be in the clear. And if they had
 

“Mr. Sturm, please...”

             


Excerpt

Her war friends quickly realized her potential, and she was promptly placed into a position within the new French government. Her initial assignments involved multiple, often ill-defined duties. She was a semi obscure cog in the complicated mechanism of command involving multiple departments, with only an intermediary to indirectly report to one of the heads. A position that allowed her limited access to the most secret documents related to the French development of missiles, aircraft and nuclear weapons. She was well protected by her distinguished family name, embellished by her expert friends to a degree that no one ever questioned her other false credentials. Particularly in the beginning, when the scrutiny was often less than pro forma.



Professional Reviews

Crossorads
Print ISBN 1-934337-56-0
EBook 1-934337-55-2

CROSSROADS REVIEWS (Crossroads at www.SNEDELTON.com)

"Reminiscent of John Le Carre with a dash of Ian Flemming, Steven Nedelton's Crossroads plunges us deep into the complicated and not yet thawed Cold War mind-power experimentations and its dubious dark characters that once inhabited that volatile underworld. Written with an uncanny knack for plot and time-shifting, this 21st century thriller also introduces us to 20 th century CIA Agent David Tallman, the main character who possesses depth, passion and, in the grand tradition of Hemingway at his best, more than his fair share of tragedy and wickedness. An unusually multi-layered and absorbing novel, Crossroads will be and should be read by thriller and spy novel enthusiasts all over the globe."
--Vincent Zandri, author of As Catch Can and the forthcoming Moonlight Falls



Crossorads
“Crossroads is an international spy thriller with an intriguing plot that twists and turns thus engaging the interest of the reader till the final page. It contains an array of interesting characters ranging from the bottom of the food chain like Mme Benoit, an ex-cop turned killer for hire Hans Polf to the top Russian Special Operations boss Sergey Sokolov. In this spy game no one is spared, no one is indispensable. It’s how each character meets his/her end that makes the plot suspenseful and satisfying as a spy thriller. The plot flirts back and forth, from the United States, to Russia and to France giving it an international flair.
Steven Nedelton has a flair for details – a good example is how the fallen Volkov stalked Solkolov to have his revenge. Time and time again, Nedelton painstakingly builds up a scene before the violence erupted, giving the plot suspense and visual detail. He has a keen eye for details.
A good read for a lazy day at home.”
--Mei L, a reviewer


Crossroads
"A techno-thriller in the tradition of Tom Clancy, Crossroads combines the best of Cold War era cat-and-mouse espionage with a healthy dose of conspiracy topped off with a bit of mind control. Steven Nedelton displays a masterful sense of suspense as he winds his way through the intricacies of back room political machinations. With a keen eye for detail, Nedelton leads us down the dark road of international intrigue, assassination and real world politics. Crossroads is a first-rate thrill ride that will keep you tearing through the pages to reach the dramatic conclusion."

--Sean Harris, author Dead of Winter


Want to review or comment on this book?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!





Featured Book
99 Obama Blogs
by Will Clark

Sadly for the world, his words came true. On November 21, 2007, Barack Obama said, “I truly believe that the day I'm inaugurated, not only the country looks at itself di..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
No Regrets/The Forgiving Heart of Allyson Porteus
by Donna Lynch

Attractive Allyson Porteus is in love with charming Kyle Riker, and she has a constant desire to be with him, despite the fact he's a married man. When his wife, Janice ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members




Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.