AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Richard French, iMike Hartner, iJames Skivington, iCHANTI LACE, iNancy Jardine, iMel Hathorn, iShoma Mittra, i

  Home > Horror > Books Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Phillip A Ellis

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· 4 Titles
· 1 Reviews
· Add to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2008

Phillip A Ellis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


The Flayed Man: and Other Poems
by Phillip A Ellis  cover by Marge Simon 

Share this with your friends on FaceBook
Books by Phillip A Ellis
· A Concordance to the Poetry of Donald Wandrei
                >> View all

Category: 

Horror

Publisher:  Gothic Press Type: 
Pages: 

84

Copyright:  2008 ISBN-13:  9780913045160
Fiction

Publisher: Gothic Press

The Flayed Man is a collection of dark verse.

“To scare is a slim purpose in poetry,” wrote Winfield Townley Scott. And to scare is not the aim in this collection of poems by Phillip A. Ellis. The pleasures that it offers, after all, are those of all good poetry, speculative or otherwise. Enter the world of The Flayed Man, and let Phillip’s poetic vision seduce you with his unique and poetic world view.

Phillip A. Ellis is an Australian poet, critic and scholar, and he is currently studying Honours in English. He hopes to make his reputation as a poet, and in the field of Australian studies.

ISBN 978-0-913045-16-0

84 pp. $8.00

Order direct from the publisher, Gary William Crawford, at Gothic Press, 2272 Quail Oak, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-9023, U.S.A. Make checks in U.S. dollars to Gary W. Crawford. Postpaid in North America; add $6.00 overseas. Payment is also accepted by PayPal.com at gothicpt12.aol.com. Also available from Amazon.com and The Genre Mall.

Excerpt
The Testament of a Grand Sinner

I have lived in the night when the demons all roam,
and have made in the middle of evil my home,
I have roamed with both witches and ghouls in the night
and have supped with the Devil beneath the moonlight.


Professional Reviews

Book Review: The Flayed Man and Other Poems by Phillip A. Ellis
In his newest book, The Flayed Man and Other Poems, available on Gothic Press, Philip A. Ellis seems to be of two write from two distinct voices.
The first, more dominant voice, prefers longer, formal lines, favoring iambic pentameter, as well a formal poetry in general. Many of the poems in this book are sonnets, with the the center piece being "Deep In the Darkness," a seven part sonnet crown. Among the other more formal poems are ballads ("Deep In The Midnight" and "The Assignation") as well as poems of rhymed quatrains and sestets.

This voice has clearly gone to school on 18th century literature. As the name of the press implies, these poems are inspired by Gothic literature, perhaps even pre-Romantic Graveyard Poets. The themes and tropes are similar: the supernatural, ghosts, graveyards, the afterlife, curses, devils, demons, madness, darkness, etc. The inquisitive reader should not cast the book off, though, as simply genre poetry. Though formal, and oft adjective heavy, the poems of this voice are well written. They are not intended to scare or induce fear, but haunt the reader.

The other voice in this book is much more modern. Its poems are less formal, its lines shorter, and images more crisp. It is less interested in classical tropes and presents more image centered pieces, such as the titular "The Flayed Man," "Sleep's Moth," and my personal favorite of the collection, "Cherry Blossom Girl":

Cherry Blossom Girl
How I remember
the cherry blossoms as they fell
over her upturned face,
eyes closed,
her crimson lipstick
almost as deep in hue
as the thick carpet of her blood.

The Flayed Man and Other Poems is a genre collection, but one that is well crafted. For fans of Edgar Allen Poe, Thomas Percy, and other poetry of the 18th and early 19th century, this collection is a must. For the rest, the chill of autumn is nearly upon us and winter sure to follow. This is the perfect book to read by candlelight on some long, cold evening and invite a wayward ghost inside to warm himself by your dreams.

(Cleveland Poetics (http://clevelandpoetics.blogspot.com/2008/09/book-review-flayed-man-and-other-poems.html)



Want to review or comment on this book?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!



Popular Horror Books
  1. One Halloween
  2. Dancing With Demons and Other Bedtime Stor
  3. A Short Story Collection of Horrors, the B
  4. 809 Jacob Street
  5. Archangel
  6. Scary Stories: A Collection of Horror- Vol
  7. Thrillers & Chillers 2
  8. Monster
  9. The Ghastly Deeds Of Miss Noralei Gloom
  10. The Mortician

One Halloween by Carol Fowler

This is a suspense-driven, nail-biting horror story that is unimaginable. If you were on the receiving end of this tale, you would end up with bats in the attic It's hard to figur..  
BookAds by Silver, Gold and Platinum Members

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.