AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Matthew Miller, iRobert Mills, iAndrew Updegrove, iVenkataraman Gopalakrishnan, iWalt Hardester, iHank Nuwer, iDarryl Jenkins, i

  Home > Fantasy > Books Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jacob Schriftman

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· 3 Titles
· Add to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2008

Jacob Schriftman, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.




Featured Book
Amy's Choice (A More Perfect Union Book 2)
by Betty Bolte

In 1782 Charles Town, South Carolina, the American War of Independence becomes personal.....  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
The Windfallow Chronicles: Volume I
by Donna Swanson

Volume I in 3 books: Book One: The Great Bell of Fellowship Book Two: King of the Barrier Wood Book Three: The Deceiver ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



The Crack Beneath the Worlds
by Jacob Schriftman   

Share this with your friends on FaceBook

Category: 

Fantasy

Publisher:  Moonrise ISBN-10:  1434879208 Type: 
Pages: 

380

Copyright:  April 14, 2008 ISBN-13:  9781434879202
Fiction

Fans of Narnia or Harry Potter can now embark on a new adventure. Jacob Schriftman has created a fantasy story rich with symbolism, enthralling for children and thought-provoking for adults.

Amazon
The Crack Beneath the Worlds
Special Website for the Book

Even for troublemaker Jerick it is a rare feat to hijack a hot-air balloon. Not to mention dragging little Naomi along, who happens to hate adventures. It's tough luck for her, as a group of fairies actually wraps their dragon-shaped balloon in a cloud and carries it to the ocean of a flat world. There, the children are attacked by armored sailors who mistake the balloon for a real dragon. But if Naomi thinks this is as bad as it can get, she is wrong. Before long, they and the sailors fall off the world's edge and crash into yet another dimension.

This is only the beginning of their journey. A universe of complex schemes unfolds as they move from one mystery to the next, taste death, swim across infinity, and climb the staircase to the very ceiling of existence. And all while racing against time.


Excerpt

Sometimes one reads in a book that a person "thought he was dead." In most cases the whole story is either made up or the phrase is just a poetic way of saying that someone nearly died. In Jerick’s case, however, it was really true. That moment when he crashed into the bottom of the basket, he really did think he was dead. But it was impossible to believe it for longer than a few seconds. What with the searing pain in his left shoulder, the warm blood oozing out and drenching his light-colored shirt, and his face smashed against the hard floor of the basket, he could not long deny his presence in the land of the living.

Curiously enough, he felt a flash of disappointment. He did not feel relief at the discovery that he wasn’t dead, as people do in books. Even though he had never told anyone, he was horribly afraid of death. When he was alone, panic would sometimes grip him. He was afraid his heart might stop beating, which is why he was in the habit of putting his hand over his chest to check that it was still all right. Now if he had really been dead and known it, then at least he would know now that there was life after death.

It was not to be. Not yet in any case.





Want to review or comment on this book?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!





Featured Book
YESHUA, A Personal Memoir of the Missing years of Jesus
by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

Visionary/Metaphysical fiction is set in the context of a historical novel. It is inspired by the statement by Edgar Cayce, the late American prophet, that Jesus had visi..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
The Wronged Princess - book 1
by Kathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler

When Cinderella's slipper slides onto the foot of her batty-eyed sister what is she to do? What is Prince Charming to do!..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members




Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.