Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!


Featured Authors:  Audrey Coatesworth, iTobias Roote, iLaurie Conrad, iAnn Frailey, iGary Rodriguez, iPatricia Garber, iBarbara Henry, i

  Home > Literary Fiction > Books Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Emily-Jane Hills Hills Orford

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· 9 Titles
· Add to My Library
· Share with Friends!
Member Since: Feb, 2011

Emily-Jane Hills Hills Orford, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.

Featured Book
Calum's Curse Series Boxed Set (Books 1-3)
by Sky Purington

An age old curse unravels in three mind-blowing hauntings...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

Featured Book
Living on Sisu: The 1913 Union Copper Strike Tragedy
by Deborah Frontiera

First Place Winner in historical fiction in the Purple Dragonfly Awards for excellence in children's literature. Feel like you are in the moment nearly 100 years ago..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

by Emily-Jane Hills Hills Orford   

Share this with your friends on FaceBook
Books by Emily-Jane Hills Hills Orford
· Still Delicious
· Winter
· Spring
· Autumn
· Summer
                >> View all


Literary Fiction

Publisher:  Baico ISBN-10:  9781897449028


Copyright:  2007 ISBN-13:  9781897449028

Hope Jones is Gitxsan. She has inherited a rare musical talent and a very valuable Stradivarius violin with a passionate mystery that surpasses the tragedy of "Romeo and Juliet"

Emily-Jane Hills Orford

Summer is the story of Hope Jones, a young Gitxsan fiddler from northern British Columbia, Canada. Hope has a rare musical talent and what everyone believes is a very valuable Stradivarius violin. Is it the mysterious missing Juliet? As Hope grows and matures in her music, she learns more about her violin, the romance and mystery that surrounds it and the very dangerous family that continually threatens her in their attempts to claim it. Hopes life follows the four seasons of Vivaldis music, much like life unfolds through the seasons. Summer is but one story in Vivaldis musical journey.

Professional Reviews

A Great Musical Read
Hope Jones, a young girl from British Columbia, uses the uniqueness of her mixed cultural heritage, Gitxsan and Canadian, to create her repertoire- for life and music.

Hope is the daughter of an Aboriginal single Mother who struggles financially to support them, but what they lack in money they gain in family bonds. Hope is raised with love and is given the gift of music. Hope is taught to play the fiddle by her Grandfather and her treasured fiddle is special to the family as it has been passed on through the generations of her family. The origins of the instrument however, create as much a mystery as that of the young girl herself.

Hard work, faith and persistence allow Hope to see her talent blossom into international opportunities. Making friends easily the talented musician spreads her wings into new ventures but never far enough that she leaves her small hometown behind or those she loves. Her ever- faithful Mother and childhood sweetheart, Peter John, thread through story like a melody.

Summer is as much a mystery as it is romantic story about a young girl's life. And it's evident that the author has a strong knowledge of music and how it affects people's lives.

The writer's style combines people, their stories and music in a unique blend. The allegory between the provenance of the violin and that of the main character adds a wonderful flow and displays a rare writing skill.

Emily-Jane Hills Orford was born in Toronto, and although she has lived throughout Canada, she again resides in Ontario. She has written several articles, short stories, children's picture books and two other novels. She currently lives in Eastern Ontario and balances teaching music in her busy life.

Highly recommended by Darlene Rich, Allbooks Review.

Want to review or comment on this book?
Click here to login!

Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!

Featured Book
Pieces of Eight, Part IV
by Jay Dubya

Pieces of Eight, Part IV is a series of eight sci-fi/paranormal novellas and represents Jay Dubya's sixteenth hardcover story collection...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

Featured Book
Always Remember
by Rita Hestand

Rose and Josey Anderson had to keep the farm going while the civil war played it's deathly music. Life on the farm had changed since the war began, while Josey pined for ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us

Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.